Never a Dull Moment: from CIARA to ENGAGE and CIO D'OR


image: published by Dutch Newspaper Telegraaf (source)

First time ever we gave a name to Thor's work; A Big Fat Storm currently sweeping across my little European country the Netherlands. "Code Orange", our human weather gods gave it. This means something like: Be really careful when going into the streets. Guess the seagulls think differently; Inside is too inside for them; High up in the air is a bit too much; Guess they decided to kinda dock in the canal in front of my home; Head in wind; Staying low until Ciara left us again.

Apparently Ciara had already quite an impact:

  • Record flying time from New York to London: Less than 5 hours
  • More than 120 flights canceled at Amsterdam Airport
  • European Football - Soccer - Matches cancelled
  • Up to 11 Beaufort just off the coast above the North Sea

The impact Ciara had on me was quite different: I decided to stay in this weekend, giving me quality time for:

  • Reading (tell you about THE book in another article)
  • Chores in the house (too boring to mention more than this)
  • Watching movies (see below)
  • Steem stuff (hmmm interesting discoveries)
  • Music (new discovery giving - me - goosebumps)


image: terrible quality shot from my own window by edje

The Steem Stuff: ENGAGEMENT TOKEN

Something new seems to be going around in our community: Engage token. Did I receive this token from someone a week ago, this morning I noticed someone responding to my previous article, received this token as well. I suppose the token is to give something to those who spend time to read an article and spend even more time engaging with the author and other commenters. COOL! The token distributor seems to be summoned with a simple command "!ENGAGE XX" with the XX being the amount of tokens. Quick investigation lead me to @abh12345 being the one who launched all of this. He tells us: "Use ENGAGE tokens to purchase personalized charts from @abh12345!" How COOL! A token that can be used to purchase something! Tried to give 10 ENGAGE myself, but so far I didn't see the tokens being given to one of my commenters. Will need to get in contact with those who go around landing these tokens in our baskets.

The Movies

Not too much to say about this, other than last two days seen a couple of semi good to so-so movies, like "Paycheck" (the so-so one: interesting baseline, will elaborate later in some other article), "The Dinner" (liked the book really much, the movie is kinda good, less than the book for sure) and "The Sparrow" (I did like this one quite a lot, funny to see an American movie about a Russian spy story).

If you ask my recommendation: Out of these three, spend time to watch the later. In case you have more time left, go for The Dinner. Leave Paycheck for what it is; The concept of the story is much better than the movie itself.

The Music

Although I do like writing stories around music, about my music experiences, about the industry and all, sometimes it's better to not say anything and just listen. Ok ok, I say something still: First recording of a set by Cio D'Or I discovered a month or so ago, maybe two months already.

I tell you: I DO VERY MUCH LIKE WHAT I'VE HEARD THUS FAR! CIO is Simply Amazing!!! It's Electronic; Ambient-ish; Cinematic-ish; Experimental-ish, Techno-ish and in some way Highly Musical. WOW!! GAZILLION GOOSEBUMPS WOW!! Hear for yourself; Hit the play button below!

CARPE DIEM

source soundcloud


Artist: CIO D'OR
Set: RA Podcast 219
Year: 2011

Resources

Music | Spotify Beatport Bandcamp Soundcloud Mixcloud YouTube
Discography | Discogs
Upcoming Gigs | Resident Advisor
Artist | Website

a STEEM original

qsounds music library with more than 300 entries | A...K | L...Z |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency