The mystery of toilet paper and why the economy should be more like the brain

Yesterday I visited a local sight...

DSC_1849.JPG

The supermarket. And why this ordinary place suddenly became such an attraction to me was because of the empty shelves, because people are freaking for, you can probably guess, the coronavirus. Now, why I thought it was an interesting place to see at 11 pm, I'm not completely sure, but I did find out that people really value bread, eggs, canned beans, frozen vegetables, meat and toilet paper which were almost all gone. The latter of which I have a hard time grasping why it should be hoarded, because most homes in Finland have that bidet shower anyway, which is a more hygienic way of dealing with stuff instead of wiping the shit all over the place. I don't know, seems strange to me how desperately people want to have the ability to wipe shit with paper even during a catastrophe - who came up with that anyway?

The 24/7 supermarket is usually quiet during the night, but I was anticipating that this would no longer be the case. And indeed, upon entering the store I saw a decent lineup waiting to check out their groceries. Not all were there hoarding though, because one dude was casually buying some pizza, coke, bacon and couple doughnuts. He just wanted to enjoy the Friday evening.

As for myself, I was lucky because peanut butter was well on stock - which I wonder to a great degree, because peanut butter is the shit! Much better apocalypse spread than margarine in my opinion. I was in no shortage of food, because I already had a good 20+ kg of rice at home, before the virus. Oh, and I almost forgot: still have a good 10 kg of dried fruit, which I have a bit of a hard time consuming though, for obvious reasons (spoiler: the reason being that I had 60 kilos of it a while ago). So if I need to fortify at home for a while, I'm well prepared already. Should shit really hit the fan, I have a water filter that enables me to get consumable water from wherever there's some water. That's some post-apocalypse type of stuff though, and at that point I'd probably have other worries, too, such as other people killing me.

The whole corona makes me think that what a house of cards we seem to have built, because it is already tanking the global economy into recession, albeit it was promised to happen soon anyway. Either way, it seems like the economy isn't set in an ideal way when a crisis in the States caused by some greedy bastards on the Wall Street can drive the whole world into recession, the effects of which we still haven't managed to brush off here in Finland, for example. And here we go again, with the same setup, with central banks already having pushed interest rates down already in order to stimulate the economy. Get people to consume, apparently that is what's keeping up the economy, not sure if that is the ideal way, not sure what would be an alternative though - I am not that wise - but that is little besides the point anyway.

To me it appears that there should be more modularity with the economy, similar to how the brain has "modules" that run separate processes but still communicate with each others enough so that a certain amount of integrity is reached to make it all function as a whole. Roughly speaking, left hemisphere is specialized with known categories, analytical processes, detailed motor actions, positive emotion etc. Right hemisphere deals with categories that are unknown and comes up with ways on how to deal with them. How to deal with something you don't know? Emotions. That of which you don't know is represented as a threat, because sometimes it really is a threat, and then a quick emotional reaction - fight or flight - is useful. But on the other hand, beyond the limits of our understanding lies an area which we can master. This idea is represented with the dragon of chaos that hoards treasures in mythologies. A threat, but the confronting of which provides a treasure for the one who has the courage to confront it successfully. I didn't come up with this stuff myself though, I've just listened Jordan Petterson's lectures which are quite interesting to me.

Anyhow, right hemisphere makes abstractions and stuff and every now and then gives little bits and pieces of that new information for the left hemisphere through corpus callosum - the thing connecting the hemispheres. Why aren't the hemispheres just one big brain? Probably because if everyday your mental schemes were shattered you probably wouldn't be able to function in any type of coherent way in this life.

Uncertain times were living in, and no wonder when a random virus can/will cause massive ways of unemployment just because the world has to stop for a while to prevent a virus from spreading. Seems like we didn't figure a way how to safely stop and pick up from where we left without the whole world going down.

No, I don't think it's all gonna go down, just being rhetoric for a bit, but the corona is surely going to have a big change on the world.

DSC_1850.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency