Vegan lentil zucchini and mushroom burger for food fight Friday

DSC_0451.jpg

Last night I had spent some time awake and as usual, worked up an appetite from tossing and turning. That's my exercise. When I wake up like that I get an appetite for things that are kind of heavy and fun.

I was determined to have a big loaded veggie burger. My main ingredient for veggie burgers is brown lentils and nuts. I like to throw in mushrooms and zucchini for moisture and texture.

Yesterday we went for a walk and discovered a whole bunch of chives growing in a ditch by a closed down building. I took them home and planted them by my other small chives.

DSC_0357.jpg

Then today I decided to chop a bunch down and throw them into the burger.

DSC_0376.jpg

These are the ingredients I put in but you could eliminate the herbs and spices or add your own.

1 cup cooked lentils
1 cup ground lentils
1 1/2 cups ground walnuts
2 tablespoons ground flax seeds
1 ground portobello mushroom
2 zucchinis grated
1 cup chopped chives
1 teaspoon salt or to taste
1 tablespoon paprika
1 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon coriander
1/2 teaspoon all spice
1/2 teaspoon liquid smoke
1 teaspoon cayenne
1 1 tablespoon tomato paste
3 dates
2 tablespoons lemon juice
3 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon oregano
In a food processor grind all of the ingredients together.

For the lentils, I cooked half and ground half. I ground up the cooked lentils and added everything to the mix.

DSC_0378.jpg

I made the patties then coated with cornstarch. They are fairly soft before you cook them so if you put them in the freezer for a while, they are easier to manage and the dry ingredients will swell up with the moisture from the zucchini and the mushrooms.

I cooked them in a pan because they weren't in the freezer long enough but if they were frozen or almost frozen you could put them on the grill with a little brush of oil.

DSC_0390.jpg

These were really moist but firmed up quite nicely. In the past I have had them more firm before cooking and just added a little water to the pan after they were browned but this time it was perfect.

DSC_0393.jpg

While the burgers were cooking I took the time to climb up the apple tree and pretend that I was in the country. I can imagine the neighbors were wondering why the crazy old lady is up in a tree.

DSC_0477.jpg

Bruce was a little concerned with it.

DSC_0409.jpg

DSC_0414.jpg

I cooked some green peppers to put on the burger as well. DSC_0422.jpg

DSC_0426.jpg

We ran out of mustard which we wanted, but there was some leftover dill and chive dressing. You can get my recipe for that here.

DSC_0438.jpg

I made a simple coleslaw which was made from shredded cabbage and carrots,sliced red onion and parsley. For the vinaigrette I boiled 1/4 cup vinegar with 2 tablespoons cane sugar, and salt then cooled it off. It was added to the slaw along with a tablespoon of olive oil. It was marinating in the dressing while the burgers were cooking.

DSC_0434.jpg

DSC_0441.jpg

Would we be able to fit this in our mouths? I let Marc try it first.

DSC_0452.jpg

It worked! How do we do it?

DSC_0454.jpg

DSC_0459.jpg

DSC_0448.jpg

We indulged today and really enjoyed it. After all it's Friday, which is the same for me as any other day but that is my excuse for having a burger party.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency