The Search - Surfing Portugal

So finally, after we´ve organised almost everything we will need here in Portugal for the next 6 months, like a car, a Apartment and so on, it was time for the fun part.

I haven´t been on a Surfboard in over a year. I was patient as I knew it´s a matter of time until I will be in the water again. It took longer than expected but what I´ve seen yesterday, makes me look forward to my stay here in Portugal.

Since we´re in Lagos, on the south coast of Portugal it is not that easy to find a surf that time of the year. But I´m only 30min drive away from the west coast and that´s one reason why I´ve chosen Lagos. The west coast is completely different and slowly there is some swell coming in.

As I´ve no idea about the area here I got recommended a beach called Praia de Castelejo and another one next to it Praia da Cordoama that is a bit more stretched out.

P9062287.JPG

After I had a short swim in the cold water at Castelejo I went to Miradoura da Cordoama, an Lookout at the top between both beaches.

Standing up there reminded me at Australia. Golden sand beaches, crystal clear water and a perfect blue sky. This Lookout is the perfect place to check out the surf and decide where to go. As both beaches have no pointbreak the sand banks can shift quickly, so it´s always good to check before you choose your spot.

Praia Castelejo

This is the smaller of both beaches but still has enough room to find your spot. The waves weren´t really big but it looks fun.

P9062288.JPG

P9062299.JPG


Praia da Cordoama

This one is way bigger and there are plenty of sandbanks to have fun. It also was a bit more crowded due to a lot of surfschools as far as I could see from up here.

You can see that some people just went for the middle and found their spot between both beaches. I´m a bit like that. I also hate if people park directly next to me on an empty parking ground.

P9062290.JPG

P9062303.JPG

P9062302.JPG

P9062301.JPG

P9062307.JPG


There is a super narrow path up there I would not recommend to walk on but obviously some people like the thrill.

P9062291.JPG


The only thing I need now is a new board plus a good spot to shoot photos of the surf when I´m not in. So I´m going in to town now to shop surf equipment.

HIVE Photography.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency