I Want To See the NORTHERN LIGHTS Someday... For Now, I'll Just Draw It (oil pastel art)



I've seen some movies which featured the northern lights in various places in Northern Europe, Canada, etc. ANd I've always thought that it's beautiful and that it would be awesome to actually see it in person someday, too.

Since I'm not able to see the northern lights just yet, I decided to draw it using oil pastel on watercolor paper. Here's a selfie together with my artwork. :)

image.png


Please focus on the artwork... not on my face nor on Kageyama. lol
Kidding aside, let me show you some steps or should I say trial and error on how I came up with this piece of art. Let's start!

image.png


Prepare your materials. I used some tissues in addition to these, too. Also, I just fastened a piece of watercolor paper on my table. I started working again, so I had to do it during my vacant time in my room, so small table, it is!

image.png


I just combined various colors for the sky, but I want it to be dominated by green... and as for the lower part, it would be on the darker side because I just plan on creating silhouettes of pine trees.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


I kept adjusting and adjusting... yep, trial and error it is. This really isn't how I imagined it to look, but this is quite cool. It looks like there's a dragon in the sky. (Please bear with me and use your imagination) While you're imagining it as a green dragon-like northern light, let me start making some pine trees. :)

image.png

image.png

image.png


Let me just clean this up. :)

image.png


That's it!!! I just need to take out the masking tape and write my username as well as my signature. :)

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


And there you have my Northern Lights oil pastel art. It wasn't exactly I pictured it out to be, but it was a good try. I want to try making another art featuring the northern lights, but I want to use watercolor next time. I ordered some materials online a few days ago, so I'm looking forward to receiving them.

Buying art materials is an investment somehow. They can be quite pricey, but it makes me happy... I can also improve my art and post more art-related blogs here.

I'll end this post here. Until next art blog!!! See you~! (_)v

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency