I Made A Painting of My Bestie For Her Birthday! <3



It's my bestie's special day today. We won't be able to celebrate it together since we are miles and miles apart, but we are always close to each other's heart. We did have a video call a few days back, so I am very happy about it. We were able to greet her in advance. She might be on her way home from traveling with her future hubby now. I believe she had a fun and exciting birthday, so I'm truly happy for her.

I also surprised her with this gift. Well, she won't be getting this until she came home to the Philippines, but I'm glad that she liked it. ^^



image.png


Don't mind my face... just focus on the drawing. haha


Let me show you the process as to how I came up with this drawing for her. :)



image.png



First things first, preparing the materials. For this drawing, I decided to use watercolor pencils instead of the usual tulcraft paint I'm using. I wanted this drawing to be detailed, so I chose to go with these materials. I still placed some masking tape on each side because I'm going to use water to blend in the colors later on. Let's start!

image.png


I started with sketching a guide, but as you know guides aren't always followed. lol I had to make multiple adjustments along the way and I'm sorry I couldn't document all of them. I just took a picture of the final sketch.

image.png

image.png


Do you notice the difference? haha The initial sketch was short, so I decided to change it. The final sketch gave justice to my bestie's height. haha After finishing the sketch, I immediately proceeded to coloring. <3

image.png


image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png



Done with the main subject, so let's try to work on the background... just a bit. It's my first attempt since I don't really like making backgrounds. I suck at it and I'm pretty lazy to do so. Sorry



image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png



It's done! I mean, the coloring is done, so what's left is blending them with water so it'll turn into a painting. :)

image.png

image.png

image.png


Finally, I took out the masking tape... and also added my signature above my username. :)

image.png

image.png


And that ends my artwork for my bestie's birthday. Happiest birthday again, Yel-nee... <3


I sent her a birthday greeting around midnight in the Philippines along with this drawing. I'm happy she likes and appreciates it. I just wish her the best in life. She deserves all the great things that she's experiencing now and will be experiencing in the future. <3 Love you ate~! Happy birthday! ^^

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency