Art #40: Rayda's Selfie | Emoji to OC




Hello! Last week, we had our third monthly **Emoji to OC **on ArtPark and the set of emoji presented were: 🚀⛲😮

A rocket, fountain, and a girl with shocked face. (I don't have the exact emoji for the third emoji so just assume the emoji is a girl.)

This is the third Emoji to OC and it gets challenging as this challenge goes. Or am I just exhausted from drawing Axie art entries? Hmmm...

I felt really blank on what I should draw with this emoji combination so I injected my OC from last month's Emoji to OC, Rayda.




Rayda's Selfie




rocket5.jpg


The concept I came up with was Rayda taking a selfie with the water fountain but gets shocked and surprised when she saw a rocket flying on the background. Like, who wouldn't, right? It's not the most creative way for the challenge but at least I was able to come up with something. Lol.

Also, I have only drawn Rayda traditionally last month so I saw this as a chance to finally draw her digitally. The colors I used for Rayda was a bit off for me as I am rushing and actually not in the mood to draw that day because my palm, specifically below the pinky finger, was pulsating in pain. I would correct the colors and think of a better color combination for her if ever I get the chance to draw her again.


This is Rayda drawn traiditionally:
Art #34: "RAYDA" | Emoji to OC


InShot_20210711_220312583.jpg


Now let's proceed with the details of my drawing with Rayda taking a selfie.



rocket7_1.jpg

The funniest thing here is that I had more difficulty drawing the less important stuff compared to the needed subjects. But oh well, that's how I am, giving more details to the minor things. It sucks!

Well, there's one meme-worthy stuff I added on this drawing. Have you found it?

Yes?

No?


Okay, I'll here it is.

I tweaked the phone brand's name from Asus to "Aysus". Sadly, only Filipinos would get this joke. Lol.

The word "Aysus" is a Filipino expression that could mean negative and positive. You can say it when you learn about a negative situation (similar to "ugh" or "oh my God") or when someone is looking lovestruck. I'm not really good at explaining words so if you want to learn more about this Filipino expression, you can seek Google sensei for clarification.




Drawing Process




rocket process.jpg


It still baffles me why it took me around 8 hours to complete this drawing. I mean, it's just lineart and some simple shading.

Ah, probably because I'm not in the mood to draw and drawing lineart on graphic tablet is really difficult for me.

Well, for the lineart, I used the Real G Pen. For the shading, I used the Watercolor Brush. For the background, I used the Gouache brush. And for the water fountain, I used the combination of Gouache brush and Watercolor brush for the thin strokes, and a soft brush for the white smoke-like effect on the area where the water hits each basin. (Is it called basin? Lol.) Then I also added a few shine on the water using the soft brush and set on Add Glow blending mode.

I'm really not sure how to draw water and just experimented, but I guess it turned out okay?

Lastly, I overlayed an oil paint texture to the whole drawing.

Here's a timelapse video of how I drew my third Emoji to OC. Feel free to subscribe!






Medium: Digitial (Wacom Intuos Comic)
Program: Clip Studio Paint Debut
Time: Approximately 9 Hours
Timelapse created on Clip Studio Paint Debut
Video edited on Adobe Premiere Pro CS6
Collage made on Adobe Photoshop CS6






taky hive banner2.jpg




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency