Art #25: Coffee and Galaxy | An Art for My Mother's Birthday




Today's art that I will be sharing with you is something very special because the lady in my drawing is no other than my mother. Yesterday was her birthday and to celebrate her special day, I made her a drawing.

This is my first drawing of my mother and I am very that finally I was able to make an art for her.




Coffee and Galaxy




My mother always knows how to mix and match her clothes to come up with a new and fashionable ootd. She would do this even when just going to the grocery and would go extra when we go on a vacation or some out of town trips.

(Mind you, she's already on her senior years yet there are times she would go dress almost like those youngsters in street fashion. lol)



mama 70_6.jpg

I remember she have mentioned before that she may be old by age but she doesn't feel like she already is. She is very will to travel, see new places, watch concerts, and try new foods with me that's why I love traveling with her. Unlike traveling with friends where tensions may arise when making decisions, my mother and I were always mutual on the itinerary and food choices. The only complaint she has during traveling is walking. She'd rather take the taxi even if the distance from point A to point B is walkable. But she's old so it's understandable.

Going back to my drawing, I referenced it from a photo of her which I took when we went to Camp John Hay in Baguio City last 2017. It was taken during the day but I turned it to night time in drawing to make use of the hanging lights on the background.

Here's the reference photo with a side by side comparison with the drawing.


mama 70 comparison.jpg


Comparing the two, I know you surely noticed some differences, particularly a changed on background, shoes, and a coffee. I've always loved this photo of my mother because I think it looks really cool. The way she stood and her face hidden, it looks like those street fashion photos. The difference is that, this was all candid.

I added a cup of coffee on her left hand because I feel like it's perfect to add it with her hand positioned that way. And as you've noticed, I also changed her shoes for more oomph on her overall ootd. I referenced the shoes from one of LiSA's ootd which originally has pink accents but I changed to grey for my mother. Of course, the most obvious change is the background. Changed it into the galaxy for some dreamy vibe.



mama 70_8_1.jpg

That black thing on her right hand is her phone.

And here's a close up of the shoes. I don't know what brand it is but they look really cool.



mama 70_8_2.jpg




Drawing Process




Drawing this piece was quite easy although it took a bit around 5 hours because I felt lazy, thus, slow drawing. Also, I find it more difficult making the rough sketch by drawing a figure as guide. I went straight drawing the shape of my mother's body, it felt easier that way. Well, just for this drawing.



mama 70 process.jpg

For the glow effect, I use the Add (Glow) blending effect. Blending tools are love!

On the other hand, I was really contemplating whether to settle for leafless tree because it looks nice too and gives a different feeling compared to with the one with leaves. But I settled for the ones with leaves because it looked more complete.



mama-70_1.gif

Have you drawn you mom too?




Medium: Digital (Wacom Intuos Comic)
Program: Clip Studio Paint
Time: Approximately 5 Hours
Gif made on Photoshop CS6






taky hive banner2.jpg




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency