Splinterlands Art Contest Entry week 211 - Dr Bolt (Original Character)

My inactiveness/Life update

Hello guys, I know it's been a while since you guys have seen my art blogs here. I have a good excuse for that haha. Exams sometimes affect your mood and creativity to a whole new level due to stress and anxiety. The harder the exam the higher the stress and therefore no creativity/mood to create art. One of my exams was finished some days ago and before the next exam, I have some time to spare to draw something for the weekly Splinterlands art contest. Man, I really missed participating weekly and I think have been away for more than 40+ days. I have been catching up a bit since yesterday night to see how things are in here and as usual, the winners came up with a lot of cool concepts. After seeing those I had to jump in and make one haha. Ok then let's begin the blog!

Untitled31_20220828135311.png

Splinterlands Art Contest Entry Week 211

I noticed that in one of the contest compilation posts that one can make their own splinterlands character and participate in the contest. I decided to take that path this time and make a design on my own. I like lightning so I decided to choose that as my element however I also noticed that the lighting element is not present in there (correct me if I'm wrong) so my character is based on that.

Dr Bolt - Master of Lightning

Untitled50_20221021230852.png

Character Information

Dr Bolt is a genius scientist who harnessed the power to control and produce massive amounts of electrical energy in the form of supercharged bolts with his Double Tesla coil invention. He is covered in a next-gen shock-resistant suit to shield himself from the bolts thereby making him a walking mass of electrical energy. His suit is modified in a way that the excess electrical energy can be utilized in two ways. During the battle, the good doctor can damage his opponents with his concentrated tesla blast and his suit makes this possible by controlling the charge by earthing the excess flow of current thereby giving him full control of the intensity of the blast. Dr Bolt's location is currently unknown.

Dr Bolt Splinterland card design

Untitled52_20221022093802.png

After creating the artwork, I wanted to make it look like an authentic Splinterlands card hehe so I managed to find this site where I can make a card if an artwork is available for it. The site lets you edit everything about the card like card status, frame colour etc to suit your character's needs. My card was made in a golden frame since the bolt colour is yellow and the character colour is red. Red seems to go really well with yellow or green background.

There was a minor issue though, The output from the site was not really good. I mean the frame looks good but after placing my art into it the character looked really blurry so I manually added him on the frame with the help of the ibis app itself. I believe there must be some rules while uploading an image in there to get the best results. I'm not aware of it and if anyone knows let me know in the comment section guys.

Untitled31_20220828135311.png

The process

IMG_20221022_104007.jpg

I made some creative changes to the helmet on the final version.The lighting on the head didn't feel so good to me.

Untitled50_20221021194801.png

Untitled50_20221022103502.png

Untitled50_20221022103543.png

Untitled50_20221022103524.png

Untitled50_20221022103554.png

Untitled50_20221022103629.png

Untitled50_20221022103656.png

This actually looks less time to create compared to my previous drawings. I believe I know how to use the tools really well know plus my shading technique is quite simple. Usually, I spend the entire night colouring but yesterday it happened faster than usual. I believe it's probably due to the rest I got after taking a break for more than a month now. I'm glad I did this yesterday and today I can finally share it with you guys. There is another reason why I made an original character this time, I wanted to make this into an NFT as my first NFT in the hive showroom. I can't really do it now due to a lack of time to study the method but I will try to do that in the future after my exams.

Untitled31_20220828135311.png

Tools used

App: Ibis paint x, book and a pencil.

Duration: Around 6hrs

Pose reference by Magic poser app from playstore

Thank you so much for your time :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency