Digital Bakery - Cherry Cupcake

Cherry Cupcake - Digital painting, 2021

Hello Stranger! Welcome back to the digital bakery! Let me present to you today’s yumminess - Cherry Cupcake! A continuation of my NFT cupcake collection, currently available on NFTShowroom.

I created these giant berry cupcake series to help me learn the use of digital tools and programs better. At first, I used to complicate the process a lot in my mind, and I was unable to grasp how to move forward, how to make things look like something. Stripping it down to a single brush took care of the over-complication. Overcomplication happens easily with access to a huge variety of tools. That’s all great in a vegetable soup, but a total mess while trying to figure out how to create a cohesive piece.


So, in this case, all of them are created with a single brush, some blending tools, and layers! Lots of layers. Every new addition found its place on a new separate layer. Is this correct? What exactly is correct? Is there a correct way of creating stuff? I don’t believe so. Anything goes as long as you are happy with what you are creating and you can move forward. That’s the beauty of art and creating. There are things we can learn, but we can also discover and use tools in many different ways. There is no single recipe. Question is, do you let yourself reimagine, color outside the lines? It can be scary, yet very doable. Be brave!

Screenshot from NFTShowroom

I have always been a supporter of all Hive-built and based projects. How cool is it that we have our own NFT platform?! Minting my NFTs on NFTShowroom was pretty much a no-brainer. Since my cupcakes turned out pretty cute too, the bakery was opened there, and the rest is history!

The way I see this NFT business in the crypto space is showing support to the artists whose works one enjoys. It might be one of the most naive ways to view it, but that’s the one I choose for myself. While there have been many disappointing developments in NFT space in general, one of my favorite things that I have observed are the success stories of so many artists who struggled in the past, but now can have better living conditions, or don’t need to worry about surviving week to week anymore, or that they are now able to realize their dreams in form of tools that weren’t accessible to them before.

Those stories outweigh a lot of the darkness, which, of course, also is present wherever funds of any kind are involved. In particular, the greed of the rich. Eww. So, so ugly! Sure, a lot of it is just hype being part of the hype and staying relevant too. However, it is surprising that people in this space still choose to support them xD I guess not everyone is into robin hooding the heck out of this messed up world order after all, or it is part of the grander picture of getting them on board and it somehow levels out in the end. Shrugs. I mean, I cheer too when they turn and join the good fight, but most of them see it as an opportunity to turn their pots of gold into more pots of gold that they can then flex as more dildo rockets, most likely (comes from an alien who likes rockets and space exploration but come on). Shrugs again.

Looking good as a set too, right? ^^ Screenshot from NFTShowroom of my gallery

Screenshot of Cherry Cupcake on NFTShowroom

And the cherries on top! The color combination and the composition of this one somehow give me retro poster vibes. Same as for the other ones, I used Clip Studio Paint Pro and my Cintiq 16 drawing tablet. I am growing more confident the more I work with these tools. I usually start with a sketch that has a basic outline and then build everything on the top layer by layer. Before I had access to digital tools, I thought that having an undo button makes your life easier, nope. It doesn’t. Not for perfectionists xD It can be very frustrating to chase some ideal shape straight out of your imagination. With real paper, there is an actual cost to starting over.

Let’s just say that cherries went through a lot of transformations to gain their current form. All worth it at the end of course! I am very, very pleased with the result!

Which flavor is your favorite?

Thank you for sticking around for my ramblings! Until next time! Treat yourself with a cupcake maybe!

Song of the day: Dabin, Mokita, Protostar - Drown - Protostar Remix

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency