Graphite Drawing ”Longing eyes” Steps

Hi all 👋🏻

I wanted to show you my graphite drawing title: “Longing eyes” I drew in 2014.
The finished drawing is 26 x 40 cm / 10.2 x 15.7 inch.
Reference photo used with permission from Alex Lee Johnson.
22_10_2014_tekst_.jpg

Here is a photo when the drawing is framed with a black mount-board and silver frame.
72db0efe_e632_4770_bbcd_45e65bd22bb1.jpeg

I wanted to show you also various steps from my process of drawing, future new artworks I will document in a more detailed way for you. 😎

I started this work 11 September 2014.
Graphite pencils used are ranging from 6B up till 2H.
I sketch normally the main points of interest on the paper to get the scale right and the proportions of the subject. Like eyes nose mouth. After that I add details very thin as guides.
Here I’m a bit further than that as I don’t have photos from the first stages. I also added already the background to get rid of the white paper and her had. I drew many layers until I got the desired look.
11_09_2014.jpg

Here I am building up the hair and shadows in her face:
12_09_2014.jpg

More layers added:
15_09_2014.jpg

Next step I made more progress on her face… photo of my work with a little SUNSHINE ☀️ 😉
16_09_2014.jpg

More progress was made on her hand. You can see I’m trying to build up the texture more and more.
19_09_2014.jpg

Started the hair and more shadows on her neck.
10_10_2014.jpg

Here I show you the last step: My Finished Drawing
22_10_2014_tekst_.jpg

Hope you liked my little step by step from this portrait 😊

‼️If you missed my post from the 2 paintings and drawing I am working on at the moment, Work In Progresses you find that post here : wip-gouache-kingfisher-oranges-in
It’s about my first Oil Painting a Gouache Kingfisher and another portrait fantasy Drawing. ‼️

Thank you for looking and reading 😊
Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.

If you want to know a little bit more about me… have a look at my introduction to Hive post.
Click here for my Introduction Post

Have a great day all 😎
Grtz Jackie

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency