Sketchbook 028 - 48cm x 48 cm Acrylic on Wood Board, with Hyper lapse Video

Hello and happy Monday!

This image has been rolling around my mind for a while now. Figured it would be fun to attempt to paint it.

I always forget to take photos at the start of a project, it is the worst habit. Luckily the entire process is in the video!

Canvas can be pretty expensive (especially when you have to live off of only your Hive earnings haha) I also prefer to get creative and just use whatever I have available at the time. While cleaning my workroom, I found two 48x48cm wooden boards, which seemed perfect for painting, so that's what I went with.

The colour choice of blue, white, red and black was just a lucky coincidence, but definitely appropriate to the theme of the painting. (If you know, you know 😉)

I tried out various hand poses for the reference image, and had not planned on adding the cigarette until drawing it out on the canvas, so once again, I was quite lucky!

Going a more stylized and less realistic route seemed to be the right approach for this project, which had a lot of 'winging it' happening, as usual.

A little behind the scenes stuff! I was once again sick here, seems like my daughter likes bringing home germs from school. I'll be happy once winter is over.

Sketchbook 027 showed my fist attempt at painting smoke, something which I attempted once again, using acrylic paint this time. It isn't quite perfect yet, but I am definitely enjoying getting to practice this skill.

In reality, the colours on this are much cooler, but the light in my workroom has a very orange hue to it...should have probably messed with a filter or something to correct this, but the video should show the colours better.

Now, to decide what to do for the other wooden board...if anyone has any ideas, let me know! I might just attempt it.

Well, that's it for now.

Till next time, stay positive and creative, always!

Credit - all photos and work in this belong to me.
Banner created using Adobe Express

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now