RE: Sour Pressure - Inktober days 9 and 11

videotape or a videotape of taping oneself

What a lovely misreading! I love this. Our language is awesome!

I found a Maynard James Keenan compilation

Great! And yes, I fully agree. There is something organic to his movements that everyone can mimic in that situation. I would guess that Butoh dancing has some more rules and structure for those familiar with it?

We need art challenging us.

True, not everyone would agree. And sometimes I think people would react with real shock and not the more philosophical or artistic shock we are referring to, if I make any sense? Or let us label it horrified-shock. I think that reaction is not productive and can be psychologically scarring, but that just shows that some people are in fact, following William Marx, already "eternal minors", and they cannot be shocked in the artistic manner we are referring to. (Again, I hope I am making sense.)

we of course need art to show feelings like anger or sadness.

Indeed! I am reminded of Goya's The Disasters of War plates. The absolute horror and shock they filled me when I saw them at age 16, but when I was older I realized that they are important: they remind of not of the disasters or war, but the horrors of war that our modern people shy too easily away from. It is not easy to look at, but that is the purpose! We should not be so desensitized from them as I am sure he meant to produce them as a warning for all the future viewers.

Here's one modern Butoh performance that combines so many things I love.

Thank you so much! I am going to watch it now and then I will respond in our next meeting in the ensuing comments.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency