My watercolor textures: a new collection is born

So far I have only collected textures through photography, now I try out texture effects with watercolor. I paint on A / 5 size papers, so far 20 types of textures have been made. If I already have a lot of pages, I will staple them into a small booklet so they will always be accessible when looking for a technique or texture.
Because my handwriting is very ugly, I edited the images in quadruples using one of Canva's free templates.
For the images, I wrote down what tool I used to achieve the desired effects.
Most excitingly, these textures can be combined within a painting.
I used 300g rough cold pressed Fabriano paper and Sonnet watercolor for every texture examples.


Everyone knows the sponge. Since I don’t have a sea sponge (Hey, Sponge Bob 😆!) , I made the smooth surface of the dish sponge uneven with scissors. Can be used on both dry and wet surfaces, but should be washed thoroughly after each color change.

TEXTURES.png

On the next page I used different brushes. The clouds were made with a dry brush technique, I washed the blue color a bit, but the texture of the paper looks nice. The grass was made on a dry surface with a fan brush. With the same tool a much softer effect can be achieved on wet surfaces (Weed). Flowers were painted with thick brush strokes.

1.png

The hard plastic card can be used to create even more interesting textures. Much better if the paper is thick and strong enough, otherwise it will tear.

1.png

I have already given a title to the pictures on the last page.

1.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency