Drawing on Note 10 Plus - Sevi and Elyse

My usual drawing process has always been the same: sketch on paper, scan to local PC, draw the lineart with Paint Tool SAI, then color with Adobe Photoshop pen tool. That's it. I didn't have a drawing tablet so I had to improvise -- oh, I used to have one, but I broke the stylus early on.

The Note 10+ made things easier for me. I only had to download a drawing app then I can begin sketching, lineart drawing, then coloring. One of the apps I downloaded (and had extensively used) was the Autodesk SketchBook.

I've drawn quite a lot using that app, but its ability to rile me up with corrupted files has made me ditch it for another app. Regardless, I had my fun times with it and the following is one of them.

Sevi and Elyse

My sister @arrliinn would probably ask again, "Who are they?" Well, they're fictional characters.

sketch158900367141401.jpeg

They're a cute couple from the feel-good Wattpad story Chasing in the Wild by 4reuminct. Sevi Camero is the heart-broken team captain of the UST Growling Tigers, who meets Elyse Ledezma of the De La Salle University.

Quite the typical university story, I must say, but many quips in the story have been excessively hilarious and painful. It is a story riddled with beautiful words and unforgettable lessons.

Drawing the pair

Drawing them had been -- for a lack of better words -- tiring. It had been a long time since I drew two people at the same time. And the two characters were drawn nearly in full body. What a challenge, I thought.

The following video is a timelapse of the whole drawing process. Unfortunately, there were times when I forgot to hit the record button, contributing to the sudden jumps in the video.

The context was from one of the scenes in the story -- Elyse lost in her cheerdance competition and Sevi was out to support her regardless, even to the point of wearing the opposing school's shirts. It was cute and thoughtful, and it stuck in my memory.

Copic markers and clip layers

The lineart was relatively easy. I liked the sketching part the best, always. However, the coloring was quite tragic.

This was one of the reasons I switched from SketchBook -- there was no clipping layers. None that I was aware of. I had to struggle (and fail a little) on the use of the SketchBook's Copic markers.

But I believe, all's well that ends well, huh? While I struggled quite a lot in the coloring bit, I still had fun. It was essentially my first time to digitally paint (I always did vexel), and I don't think it wasn't all that bad.

What do you think, though? Personally, I like how Sevi looks here. Hahaha.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency