Inktober 2021 - Spirit

Spirit was a challenging concept in some ways.
I had thoughts of ethereal beings, given it also being #spookyMonth, I did think that was an interesting prospect.
However, I wasn't sure this was my preferred interpretation of the prompt.
I also dwelled a while on that 'group spirit', that chorus of voices and common, united cheer towards encouraging athletes or some other typical physical or competitive display. I lingered on that a while, but ultimately decided that I was not best sure how to represent it, and also given certain constraints I am employing over this process.

And speaking of constraints, I should mention one, I am typically, and intentionally drawing on small sheets of paper, this is part of the challenge for me, but also an exercise in making use of what I have around me, as there is a small stack of said pages which are largely unused, and I intend to attain some use and value for them.

That said, 'Spirit' challenged me, and I deviated from my typical approach, using a larger page, and also taking significant inspiration from an already existing illustration. This was an engaging task as it challenged my use of form, line and shading to attempt to convincingly reproduce, and slightly alter an existing image.

Without further ado, my take on 'spirit' is indeed , liquour spirits, and I have featured the place, a still, where they are produced with a classic process.


Spirit_Still.jpeg


As mentioned this was a different a fun challenge, please find the original for comparison, and a link to the image source should you wish to buy a copy.

10 points to those 'spotting' the difference which I made to further the concept of 'spirit'.


WhatsApp Image 2021-10-17 at 21.24.46.jpeg

https://www.istockphoto.com/vector/alembic-still-for-making-alcohol-inside-distillery-sketch-gm940104352-257011513

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency