Portrait of Yoon Young Bae 배 윤영 | Color Pencils, Black Fineliners, and Markers

header.jpg

I have not posted anything here for the past 2 months. Life got unbelievably busier than usual and it seems that the number of Covid 19 cases in the country has steadily gone up to more than 20K daily these days. That created a lot of stress for a lot of people, of course, because people are mostly staying home and hardly able to leave the house without feeling extremely vulnerable to the infection. I had my 2 doses of Pfizer vaccines these past weeks and yeah, it does provide some sort of peace of mind. Now getting infected is unavoidable. It's just a matter of time. I told my family and loved ones to take care of themselves during this pandemic - quit smoking, eat healthily, exercise regularly, sleep more, manage stress and stuff - so that our bodies are in tip-top condition when we do get infected someday. There is no guarantee but we can only do our best.

Anyway enough of this Covid update. I have been drawing whenever I could and this piece here is one of those I completed recently. I found the reference image on Pinterest and to be honest initially I didn't know who this girl was. I didn't find out until after I finished the drawing. Her name is Yoon Young Bae, a South Korean fashion model. I thought she was Chinese but it doesn't matter. I just love her almond shape eyes and freckles! Lovely.

Reference Image From Pinterest

Photographer unknown

3359a9332f1aabd5549e17da7340f654.jpg

Progress Photos

I didn't take any sketch photos but I did take a time-lapse video of the drawing. These photos were screenshots from that video.

1.JPG

2.JPG

3.JPG

4.JPG

5.JPG

Time-Lapse Video

I tried to upload this video to 3Speak but somehow I couldn't so anyway....here's the one from Youtube.

Medium

  • Acid free 170gsm A4 paper
  • Color pencils - black and silver
  • 0.2, 0.8 black fineliners
  • 1.0 black marker

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency