A Portrait of My Nieces - Portrait Sketching

IMG_20210224_110547.jpg

These beautiful young ladies are my nieces. Several months ago, one of them approached me and asked if I could sketch a portrait of her and her sister. I said yes, of course, I could. I had several commissioned portraits in the queue so it took me a couple of months to finally finished sketching this.

People asked me why do I love to draw people's portraits and the answer is always every individual that I drew has their own stories, their own struggles, their own joys. And I would like to bring out the "essence of an individual" through my work using my own interpretations. And I always pray for every person I drew. I pray they would always be well, be blessed, and be held by the loving God whenever they are going through trials in their lives.

Progress Photos

I managed to take several progress photos but you could also watch the time-lapse video of me drawing it from start to finish.

1.jpg

I always start a drawing from left to right to avoid smudging or smearing the graphite and dirtied the paper.

2.jpg

3.jpg

I recorded myself while drawing using an old iPhone 6 and a basic tripod.

4.jpg

Materials I used:

  • Acid-free 170gsm A3 paper
  • Various sketching pencils grade H to 12B. I used 4 different pencil brands - Staedler Lumograph, Derwent Graphic, Mitsubishi 9800, Martol, Faber Castell 9000. My favorite is Derwent Graphic and I used it the most.
  • Faber Castell putty eraser
  • Daler Rowney Perfix Fixative spray to set the graphite

Simple and inexpensive materials but still produced exquisite results 😁

Time-lapse Video

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency