A Pencil Portrait of A Beautiful Iban Lady Part 2

Several days ago I shared one of the commissioned portraits I had been working on this month. And today's post will talk about the second portrait of a very beautiful Iban lady.

Like the first portrait, this drawing involved some very delicate details that took me almost two weeks to complete it. I did two under sketching but had to start all over again because I was not happy with the results. And also while working on this portrait I was suffering from a bad case of food poisoning and the work had to be delayed for several days.

And like the first portrait, this drawing also featured a lady wearing a very intricate headgear called "sugu tinggi". I explained this headgear briefly in my previous post.

❤️ The Portrait ❤️

I felt a bit sad while working on this drawing because my tribe, the Dayaks of Sarawak, Borneo, will celebrate the annual festival of Gawai Dayak on June 1st.

However, my family can't celebrate it with our loved ones back at home because we can't afford the trip. Money is always tight I just refused to think much about it. My family back home understood our situation but that doesn't ease the guilt I feel. But I guess this is just my lot in life and there is no use in feeling bitter about it. I am grateful for whatever blessings I have in life even though financial abundance might not be one of them 🤷‍♀

Like the other portrait, I will not include the reference image to protect my friend's privacy.

Materials I used:

  • 165gsm acid-free paper
  • Mars Lumograph Black pencils
  • Derwent Graphic pencils
  • Black marker
  • Black pen
  • Black and silver color pencils
  • Sakura White Gelly Roll pen

I didn't take a lot of progress photos other than these 3.

1.jpg

3.jpg

2.png

And the final portrait...

final.jpg

And here's a short video of me working on the final section of the portrait.

What do you think of this portrait?

That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Note: All images used belong to me unless stated otherwise.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

💲💲💲 Blog on Read.Cash And Earn Bitcoin Cash Like Me. Click Here 💲💲💲

Check out my NFT Collections on OpenSea

My Third NFT Collection - Women Empowerment - Is Now Available On NFTShowroom

nftshowroom.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency