Sculpting Hair In Blender - or - Do The Do

Do, not Dew

Because mountain dew...? What a name for high fructose cornsyrup mixed with artificial colors and flavors.

I’m working on the lovely character I mentioned last time if you’re keeping track, but I’m struggling with keeping the polycount at something manageable by my computer and getting the level of detail I want. And also life. Life always finds a way… to fuck up your shit.

So she is not ready for her big reveal, but she’s looking good, nay, dare I say it, she’s looking great. Soon I’ll be putting some clothes on her (sad), and rigging her up and doing some posing and facial expressions. First I need to finish joining the parts (leg bones connected to the hip bone, nose is connected to the face and all that) and then retopologize.

Hairy bits

So in an effort to figure out how to make hair, I’ve been experimenting with several methods. Today I’m sharing some of my renders of a head I made with different hairstyles that I did by sculpting one object (a duplicated section of skull) scaled up with a solidify modifier) The face is just something I whipped up while experimenting with methods for building heads. I think he’s pretty badass though. Sort of stylized and intense. I’ll probably keep him around and expand on him later for a full character.

Hairy Guy
Next time I’ll do some hairstyles with curves (sort of stylized chunks of hair) which takes longer but gives a nicer result I think and also allows for some movement when you animate. Alrighty. Peace.

383F8F73AC7241FF9870FC267BD1024E.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency