Hive.pm : Private Messaging on HIVE! Review

DBuzz team gave me the privilege to test the dApp before it went public. It's a messaging dapp that let's you send encrypted messages on the blockchain. Only people with the memo key (sender and receiver) will be able to see the message. While the function has been around in the past, having a user friendly interface maximizes privacy protection offered by a blockchain. You can find out more about the dApp from here.


You can find the frontend on this link.

login.jpg

This is the first thing you will see when you click the link. It's on dim lights by default which is something I appreciate immediately. I'm no expert at design but I find the lack of visual clutter appealing and gives off a professional feel to it.

I also noted the site supporting keychain log-in method. I would have turned back when hivesigner or direct log ins using your keys was the only option. The fact that it prompted me to insert my master password first raised an alarm.


Untitled.jpg

It's a straight forward standard way of sending encrypted messaging I've been accustomed to using peakd already. You can change the amount of Hive/HBD you send just like any normal transaction.


Message.jpg

It will appear like this on the frontend once you sent the message signed with your active key.


decrypt message.jpg

I logged out and in again to see my message automatically encrypted. I could decrypt it using the options on the lower part of the message.

notice.jpg


Thoughts:

It does what it's supposed to do. Not really a feature that's unique as peakd can accomplish the same purpose. It makes a good alternative to peakd for the user friendly interface.

I like how the messages are encrypted after logging out automatically. It gives off some privacy protection from anyone curious about your private messages. But I doubt most would want to know as most hackers would just be fine taking your money.

I don't really use encrypted memos on the blockchain. It just makes your wallet transfers even more suspicious than blank transfers. There are other alternatives to private messaging if you're after encryption. If investigations were done, one would be forced to reveal the messages by authorities so there's that to keep in mind.

Conversations in the past can be sorted out by the dApp so it makes sifting through the wallet transfers quicker. I think that's one of the best features this app does well for users that want to go heavy on its functions.

I haven't pushed the character limit for each messages. I forgot to do that when it's the first thing I was curious about when the dapp was mentioned.

For most users, I doubt that they care about censorship unless they are directly being censored. I think the dApp is still relevant as another alternative to existing means of communicating privately.


If you made it this far reading, thank you for your time. This is a creative footer by @adamada. A Hobby Illustrator.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency