CREATIVE CONTEST: Toilet Rolls Contest

Hey Bees!
I saw this fun contest by @livinguktaiwan and I have been eager to participate but I had a problem; TOILET ROLLS! hahaha. Yeah, don't look at me lol, the contest is all about making something out of toilet rolls, a toy, or anything you can play with and have fun.

Why was it then a problem or trouble for me? well, I already told the organizer that we had already disposed of our toilet rolls earlier before I saw the contest. He told me that hopefully, I can still join the contest since it was going to run for a week or more, or better still I can buy toilet papers and pull out the rolls to use.

So sad, I didn't do that neither were we able to produce more than three toilet rolls in a week. I already started feeling bad that I won't get a chance to participate, and just then, a thought came into my mind. If I couldn't buy toilet papers and make use of the rolls then I could actually create my own rolls don't you think?
Yes, it was a great idea and I bought that idea without a second thought lol.

So before I start anything, I will like to apologize for not actually using the purchased toilet rolls but rather my homemade rolls lol. I hope my entry can still be pardoned thank you!
I just didn't want to miss out seeing it only two days left :)

Now to our rolls and what I am making out of them? Wait, before then, what did I even use to make my own rolls? good question! I used CARTONS yeah, I used cartons to manufacture my rolls lol. And what fun thing will I be making out of these four rolls?
I want to use it as a pillar to the open space shade I had in mind to create.

I spent like an hour thinking about what to create with the rolls. First I wanted to make a container, then I thought of making a car and the final result was to make the open Shade I can't call it a house cause it doesn't have any room but just a roof and pillars.

Here are the materials I used;

  • Carton
  • Scissor
  • top gum
  • Pin

As required and one of the contest rules, I will show you most of the steps I captured while doing this.
Note: This isn't gonna be like one of my tutorials
I will just explain how I did most of the steps using the photos, thank you!

I cut out those cartons into four equal sizes and then I peeled off the the first layer to get the strokes layer

I repeated this for the four rolls of cartons I made, gummed them too

Then I measured out the layer of the box I needed and gummed it all round

Here is the finished process of the peeling

Have a clearer view of that step here

I later raised the roof a little higher but I think I liked the first flat roof so I will be keeping it that way lol, Just wanted to show the process

Take a closer look at those chairs and table :)

And finally, I made a staircase for it. Now you can climb up there lol.

Then I applied top gum to both sides of the cartons and sticked them together and left it to dry

After doing this for all four rolls, I set them aside to dry and stick well.

I peeled out the smooth layer as well and left it with the strokes layer

After peeling the box layers, I mounted the four rolls to the layer

Then I fixed the roof to the four pillars

After setting the shade, I decided to make a table and two armchairs for the open setting. I cut a sizeable carton for this.

Here is another setting, I am sure this looks great, don't you think? :)

I told you I was going to keep that roof flat and yes I did hahaha


These are all the steps and process I wanted to share for this contest.

My kid brother is already playing with this as I am writing this post lol. Now he wants to demolish my house and use those pillars and play with something else hahaha. I wished I had captured the moment lol.
I had fun doing this, though it was a little stressful and also thought-provoking but I had fun and I hope such contests will be organized often. Thank you @livinguktaiwan

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency