My Childhood Playtime || Paper Dolls

I have never owned a Barbie Doll, nor the fake wannabes. But what I did spend some time playing with when I didn't have my head buried in an Enid Blyton were Paper Dolls. And oh the fun I used to have creating the clothes and colouring them in.

So, searching for pictures that I could include, I was pleasantly surprised to see that these paper dolls are still being sold. Here's one of the many from colourbox.com

nn.png
source

I really like this but woah!! Look at the price!! That's crazy no? But the accessories don't have tabs like I remember them. So, I googled 1980s paper dolls - and what do you know!! I found some on Etsy.

images.png
source

Still, look at the price!! Ok, now that you already know the kind of paper dolls I am talking about from these screencaps...

I can't remember exactly, but I know I used to buy them with my pocket money, and my pocket money wasn't much. So I'm guessing it was in the region of RM1 or so (my pocket money was 15 cents).

I would buy one sheet, so I get one paper doll with a few costumes. Then using the paper doll, I'd trace more costumes for her. Then, when my paper doll was falling apart, I'd trace her out and create another paper doll. I created all kinds of everything- ok, perhaps not as fancy as these but still many pretty pieces.

Yikes, now I am itching to buy one. Too expensive though. Maybe I'll get the artists in my family to draw me one instead...

That was fun. I have this warm fuzzy feeling now. Did you ever play with these paper dolls?

Thank you for readingšŸ˜Š
Till next time, Carpe Diemā£ļø
Sh33la

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency