Little Luigi // Pequeño Luigi ( Haunted toys)



img_0.19196005801734442.jpg



ENGLISH


Greetings to everyone in Hive, warm hugs, today I will share in this community the following story, I must tell you that they did not tell me, I personally lived it, and now that I remember it a thousand doubts come to my head about those events, but whatever I will not pass on my doubts, I will narrate what happened as I remember it.


It was 1995, I had dropped out of high school so I had free time. I began to spend that idle time in a video club that was in the heart of the city, there they rented movies in the old VHS format and had about 20 video game "machines", in reality they were home consoles connected to a 17 '' TV the consoles they had SNES, SEGA Genesis and those that interest us 4 NES, numbered from one to four and it is the latter that interests us in this story.


img_0.8197103024179142.jpg


It turns out that only in this one a game remained permanently (in the others the cartridges were changed according to the user's request) And the game that was always there was Super Mario Bros. With this context in mind I begin our story. From being there so much I got involved in the tasks of the managers: resetting a machine, changing cartridges and of course putting some secret keys to a video game; then cleaning, ordering the movie covers and all kinds of things for the modest payment of a lunch and hours of play.


img_0.8783948454466789.jpg


When I least thought about it I was already opening the premises and closing it because I had a set of keys that they gave me because it was reliable (the managers were not from the city, they arrived a little late and left early) it was like this, a good day, then After opening the business and cleaning a little, I noticed that machine 4 was on, only the console not the TV, I really did not give it much importance, I turned it off and continued cleaning.

A few days later, one that was not my turn to open the store but if I had closed late the night before, I received a wake-up call from the manager, he reprimanded me that I should be more careful and not leave equipment on. That alarmed me because I personally made sure to turn off each piece of equipment and disconnect the power to the machine area so I asked what was left on and the answer alarmed me even more. Machine 4.

My head spun a thousand times remembering that I had found that machine on before. I was really looking for logical reasons for these events (as we usually run away from the unexplainable trying to explain it in any logical way) I had no luck to find it or my head was not spinning, anyway I left dizzy and with my scolding to fulfill my duties.

A couple of weeks later, maybe, we received an alert from a neighbor of the building where the premises was located. She told us that if we were planning to leave people overnight on the premises we should direct them to lower the volume of the machines out of consideration for the neighbors. Immediately the manager and I looked at each other surprised and before we could react the neighbor's son continued saying "I dreamed with the Mario Bros music" we apologized and went to open immediately. Everything was normal. Everything was off. Everything in order. These events made the managers connect an alarm and when we closed we were paranoid, checking that no one was left inside.


img_0.7592245455037551.jpg


It was a Sunday at about 6:30 in the morning, I remember it as if it had not been so many years, it was not even dawn yet. We arrived early to open the store because we had a video game contest that day. The dynamic was that I lifted the "santamaría" while the manager ran inside to deactivate the alarm (he had 30 seconds to do it) he entered and immediately began to shout "there he is" "grab him" I ran inside and I saw a boy with a green t-shirt sneaking between the shelves that displayed the movie covers, I turned around to cut him off but he was gone. We checked everything, inside and on the street but nothing.

We sat down on the sidewalk to catch our breath, there he told me he saw a blond boy about 10 or 11 years old wearing a green t-shirt and jeans, who stared at him for a couple of seconds before running away. When we went back to the store to continue with the day we realized that the console of the machine 4 was on, I turned on the TV and the screen read: "thank you Mario but the princes is in another Castle".

After that day we assumed that we would always have a night player and we stopped worrying if from time to time a certain machine would come on. We were just saying that it was little Luigi (obvious reference)


img_0.9707197724339803.jpg


The end.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)




ESPAÑOL


Saludos a todos en Hive, calurosos abrazos, hoy compartiré en esta comunidad la siguiente historia, debo decirles que no me la contaron, yo la viví personalmente, y ahora que la recuerdo mil dudas se vienen a mi cabeza de aquellos eventos, pero como sea, no les pasaré mis dudas, narraré lo sucedido tal como lo recuerdo.


Era el año 1995, me había retirado del bachillerato por lo que tenía tiempo libre. Empecé a gastar ese tiempo ocioso en un video club que quedaba en pleno centro de la ciudad, allí rentaban películas en el antiguo formato VHS y tenían unas 20 "máquinas" de videojuegos, en realidad eran consolas caseras conectadas a TV de 17'' entre las consolas habían SNES, SEGA Génesis y las que nos interesan 4 NES, numeradas de la uno a la cuatro y es ésta última la que nos interesa en esta historia. Resulta que solo en ésta permanecía un juego permanentemente ( en las demás se cambiaban los cartuchos según petición del usuario)
Y el juego que siempre estaba allí era Super Mario Bros. Con este contexto en mente comienzo nuestro relato.

De tanto estar allí me fui involucrando en las tareas de los encargados: resetear alguna máquina, cambiar cartuchos y claro poner algunas claves secretas de algún video juego; luego limpiar, ordenar las carátulas de las películas y toda clase de cosas por el módico pago de un almuerzo y horas de juego.

Cuando menos lo pensé ya me hallaba abriendo el local y cerrándolo pues tenía un juego de llaves que me dieron porque resulte confiable ( los encargados no eran de la ciudad, llegaban un poco tarde y se iban temprano) fue así cómo un buen día, luego de abrir el negocio y limpiar un poco noté que la máquina 4 estaba encendida, solo la consola no la TV, realmente no le dí mucha importancia, la apagué y seguí mi limpieza.

Algunos días después, uno que no me tocó abrir el local pero si había cerrado yo tarde la noche anterior, recibí una llamada de atención del encargado, me recriminó que debía ser más cuidadoso y no dejar equipos encendidos. Eso me alarmó pues me aseguré personalmente de apagar cada equipo y desconectar la energía del área de máquinas así que pregunté que se quedó encendido y la respuesta me alarmó mucho más. La máquina 4.

Mi cabeza dio mil vueltas recordando que aquella máquina la había encontrado encendida yo antes. Realmente yo buscaba razones lógicas para esos sucesos ( como usualmente huimos de lo inexplicable tratando de explicarlo de cualquier forma lógica) no tuve suerte de encontrarla o faltaron vueltas a mi cabeza, como sea me fui mareado y con mi regaño a cumplir mis labores.

Un par de semana más tarde, tal vez, recibimos una alerta de una vecina del edificio donde estaba el local. Nos dijo que si pensabamos dejar gente durante la noche en el local les orientaramos de bajar el volumen de las máquinas por consideración a los vecinos. De inmediato el encargado y yo nos miramos la cara sorprendidos y antes de poder reaccionar continúo el hijo de la vecina diciendo "Soñé con la musiquita de Mario Bros" pedimos disculpas y fuimos a abrir de inmediato. Todo estaba normal. Todo apagado. Todo en orden. Estos sucesos hicieron que los encargados conectaran una alarma y que al cerrar nos pusieramos paranoicos revisando que nadie quedara adentro.

Fue un domingo como a las 6 y 30 de la mañana, lo recuerdo como si no hubiesen pasado tantos años, aun no amanecía del todo. Llegamos temprano a abrir el local pues teníamos un concurso de video juegos ese día. La dinámica era que yo levantaba la "santamaría" mientras el encargado corría dentro a desactivar la alarma ( tenía 30 segundos para hacerlo) entró y de inmediato comenzó a gritar " ahí esta" " agarralo" yo entre corriendo y alcancé a ver a un niño con una camiseta verde escabulléndose entre los estantes que exhibían las carátulas de las películas, dí la vuelta para cortarle el paso pero ya no estaba. Revisamos todo, adentro y en la calle pero nada. Nos sentamos en la acera para recuperar el aliento, allí me contó que vió un niño rubio de unos 10 u once años con una camiseta verde y jeans, que lo miró fijamente un par de segundos antes de salir corriendo. Cuando entramos de nuevo al local a proseguir con el día nos dimos cuenta que la consola de la máquina 4 se hallaba encendida, encendí la TV y en la pantalla se podía leer : "thank you Mario but the princes is in another Castle"

Luego de aquel día asumimos que siempre tendríamos un jugador nocturno y dejamos de preocuparnos si de vez en cuando cierta máquina aparecía encendida. Sólo decíamos que se trataba del pequeño Luigi ( obvia referencia).

Fin.


Texto original y fotos cortesía de Pixabay editadas con Picsart, portadas diseños de Canva// Original text and photos courtesy of Pixabay edited with Picsart, covers designs by Canva



img_0.9599369882133835.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency