Five Days of Spidey Frames - Day 1

6C83C2B9-96B5-4E8E-8E89-679FAD44B40F.jpeg

In recent years, my love for collecting original comic book art has grown and ignited an excitement inside of me that hasn’t been seen in decades. I mean, I always love and appreciate all things...nerdy...but most of my collectibles I’ve acquired throughout the years ended up in a box. Out of sight...out of mind.

But with art...I get to frame it up...which is an adventure in itself. I actually like and enjoy the process of figuring out which frame works best fit each piece. Finding a proper matte. Color. Texture. It’s a blast in itself. But the real glory comes in once it’s finally displayed.

The wife and I agreed that I have full access from the hallway down to the basement to make my own...and I’m going to make a killer pad to entertain. There’s a lot of work involved with getting the basement set, so we are starting with hanging some of the art I’ve been collecting in the hallway. It’s like a mini gallery and I’m in awe every time I walk by em.

I find myself starting and noticing something new every time. I’m really excited for when the world returns to some form of “normalcy” and we can have company over. I will probably bore to fuck outta folks...giving a bit of background on each and every piece. I can’t wait...

Anyway, enough of my excited babbling. Onto the piece. I showed this page off a few weeks back right after it arrived. It’s the 1st page of Amazing Spider-Man #664. This is the issue.

8BFFBE09-C42A-4818-AD2C-91BE958EC434.jpeg

The art features Spidey in a predicament. Constrained by Anti-Venom and about to be revealed. Here is how the published page appeared in the issue.

CF97D5E1-535F-49FC-AD63-5EA20403BE71.jpeg

I tried to match the matte to the palate of the colored printed version. I love the pinkish-purplish-blueish hues seem throughout the page and I feel the matte is a perfect blend of those to throw a little wink toward the colorist, Matt Hollingsworth. The frame itself has a silvery/blueish finish that appears a bit weathered and scuffed which I feel fits the feel of the battle that just ensued.

The cost for the framing was around $140 beans AFTER I took advantage of Michael’s 70% Off Framing sale. Complete with the Masterpiece glass!

4069418E-8282-4412-9E1F-A2CDCD5E2C7A.jpeg

I am a big fan of the artist, Giuseppe Camuncoli, but his Spidey art is a complete ghost, So I jumped at the chance when I saw this was available. Klaus Janson worked his magic on inks to really make this piece pop when you are standing in front of it.

This piece ended up costing me $1800 bucks which I feel is a bargain. It’s a top tier book featuring a cool baddie and the main hero, it’s a splash page, and it’s beautiful. Not that I’m selling...but it’s good to know that you are making sound investments when it comes to comic art.

It’s an easy hobby to get sucked into, so it helps knowing you are parking money in solid investments. Spidey is my guy. There’s a plus and a minus with that territory. The good news is he’s one of the most desirable characters out there in terms of collectibility. The bad news is he’s one of the most desirable characters out there. Yeah...

Spidey stuff is a hot seller but you are also competing with a lot of deep pockets. Good when selling...bad when craving. Comes with the territory.

Anyway, I’m super thrilled to share the first of 5 new pieces I picked up from the framers this week with my friends here on Hive. I’ll post the second tomorrow! Going to go stare at my wall and drool for a bit...

Blewitt

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency