From High Hopes to Harsh Realities: My 88-Day Journey with Hamster Kombat Airdrops

This could be my fourth and last article about Hamster Kombat. In this article, I reflect on my early anticipation for airdrops and the disappointment I had after the listing of the token, while not rejecting wholesale the broader narrative around the Tap-to-Earn phenomenon.

15-Dogs.png

Source

As I woke up this morning and opened X, I observed that several tweets expressed deep disappointment about Hamster Kombat. Perhaps, they don't like the quantity of airdrop that they received. Another thing is that perhaps they saw on Bitget that the pre-market price of HMSTR is just $0.01.

The above image from X shows that Dogs is far better than both Catizen and Hamster Kombat in terms of distributing airdrops. I think I would agree with that. Never mind the 2 CATI I received from Catizen amounting to $2 plus for I spent minimal time in the mini-app. Hamster is a bigger disappointment for I spent almost three months playing the game and the total airdrop I received is just equivalent to $10.72:

14-Airdrop.png

I was expecting at least an airdrop worth 100 USDT. Anyhow, that's the reality of this current Tap-to-Earn craze in the TON blockchain. Perhaps, many people realized by now that there is no such thing as easy free money.

Another Tweet that caught my attention was the burial site of Hamster KOmbat:

17-Hamsterscam.png

Source

The tweet below is another:

16-Twitter disappointment.png

The man calls for subscribers to block the hamster bot and unsubscribe from all their social media. This is a kind of protest showing the user's extreme disappointment and wanting to demonstrate the power of the community.

However, with the big number on the side of Hamster Kombat, I wonder how will such a protest be received. The statistics below are based on an article from Binance and after checking the social media of the mini-app:

  • Total user base: 300,000,000 players

  • Monthly Average Users: 82,000,000 players

  • Daily Average Users: 32,000,000 players

  • Total Number of Ton Wallets connected to the Game: 55,000,000 +

  • Total Subscribers in their YouTube Channel: 37.7 M

  • Total number of followers on X: 14.3 M

  • Monthly Users on Telegram Channel: 107 M

Source

More than an hour ago, HMSTR was listed on Binance, MEXC, Bybit, and Bitget. The opening price was $0.001 and reached a peak close to $0.02. At the moment, it is traded at around 0.00818. It is anybody's guess where the price of this token will go in the coming days. As for me, I will just utilize that 10.72 USDT they gave me to trade the token. I aim to take advantage of the current negative sentiment and price volatility.

If the negative sentiment gains the upper hand, this would mean that people will no longer be interested in following the second season. The team announced in their roadmap that they will introduce the "first competitive clan championship," the expansion to more projects, and the launching "of an internal NFT marketplace" in the first quarter of 2025. Source

The 88 Days I Spent on Hamster Kombat:

Since this could be my last post on Hamster Kombat, I decided to revisit my earlier articles:

This article reminds me of my early enthusiasm for the project due to my discovery of the TON blockchain and the connection of the chain with Oleksandr Usyk, the Ukranian Heavyweight boxing champion.

Though I appreciate the crypto education from the mini-app, I am wondering now how that goal of transitioning from the "Rat Race" to becoming the CEO of an international crypto company can be reconciled with the 10 USDT airdrop.

This is the recap of Season 1 of Hamster Kombat.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now