Happiness Tree

There were many of these trees planted along the route where I take my walks. I have wondered what they are called, but wasn’t able to find out until recently.

They are called Garcinia subelliptica, also known as Happiness Tree, or Fukugi tree. They are tropical and evergreen trees planted as ornamentals. They have glossy, green leaves that are oblong in shape. Their flowers are tiny, and cream-coloured. The fruits remind me of persimmons – albeit smaller versions of them. When ripe, the fruits are edible and have a strong scent which some people find too overwhelming. The scent doesn’t bother me. A whiff of it while walking past them, tells me that they are ripe.

I have no idea why they are called 'happiness' trees.

ecency.png

follow_2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency