This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

So How Does Our Brains Store What We Treasure? 🤔

source

It's a common misconception that memory is unimportant until it begins to fade. There have been times when I can't recall a name or location that should come to mind instantly. It's annoying, isn't it?

However what if I told you that those exact memories are stored in specific brain cells deep within our brains? It's like the brain has its filing system, and new research has partially explained how it functions. I think it's fascinating that certain neurons, known as location cells and concept neurons, are in charge of helping us remember names and faces. When we see a face or location we are familiar with these microscopic brain cells light up. They are very selective. They don't just react to anything. They appear to function similarly to how your phone might identify a particular contact by using a saved number. Our memories associated with specific persons and places are recalled thanks to the brains ability to recognize when to fire these neurons.

It's funny how relatable this discovery feels. We seem to store our memories in a vault that opens when the correct cues present themselves, but how often do you walk into a place and it instantly triggers a memory of someone you haven't thought about in years? Some songs or scents have the power to transport me back to times I had thought were long ago. Though we now know that these concept and location neurons are at work it still feels a little bit like magic.

The research's potential to shed more light on how we preserve our personal histories, however, excites me the most. Everybody has treasured memories and life experiences that shape who they are. Small things hold great significance for me, such as my first job or my summers spent at my grandmother's house. I can now picture my brain exploding with those memories that are linked to particular individuals and locations. We can relive experiences thanks to these neurons not just remember them. Recalling an individual or location involves more than just accessing a file from the brain's database. Instead, it's as though we're living through that same moment again because these neurons fire again. It has me considering how each memory we possess functions as a tiny time machine transporting us to the sights, sounds, and feelings of a bygone era.

This study made me consider a few things including how easily memories can be lost. This puts a whole new light on diseases like Alzheimer's, where memory slowly fades, and raises the question of what happens if certain neurons malfunction and aren't able to maintain these memories. It is extremely hopeful to think that the research may eventually lead to better understanding or even treatment for diseases related to memory.

Learning about these neurons has, in a way, increased my appreciation for my memories, even the small daily ones. It kind of blows my mind to know that my brain is actively storing these moments selecting which ones are significant enough to preserve. Therefore, keep in mind that certain neurons are actively working to ensure that a memory stays in your brain the next time you're reminded of an old friend or a location you haven't been to in a very long time. The idea that we always have a part of our history with us preserved in the back of our minds until the right time to resurrect is reassuring.