Something has been chewing on my sugar water feeders

I came to the bee site to check on their sugar water levels and I found this. Some animal appears to have chewed through some of this buckets edge. I think a squirrel did this, seems like their kind of work.

20210511_082147.jpg

Unfortently this hole caused the 5 gallon bucket to drain. And seems I showed up shortly after the damage was done. I will let it dry and then clean it. And then use hot glue to seal the hole. Otherwise I'd have to throw away this five gallon bucket.

20210511_082143.jpg

Only one was damaged out of the three. So I went ahead and filled up the other two and will check back to see if the others have been damaged too.

20210511_082154.jpg

Some of the stones under the feeders have been moved as well. Used them to stop the dripping water from digging a hole next the structure. I wonder what moved those..Ants? There are alot of them under the stones. Or maybe an animal looking for ants?

Lastly my glass measuring cup was knocked over, I keep it in the gaps of the concrete blocks. So something pulled it out on to the ground.. lol probably an wild animal again.

As I was leaving, a bumble bee was feeding from the damaged opening. So maybe that crack helps other animals and insects feed on it.. but I thought only insects would want sugar water. Idk what animals can taste sugar.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency