Mason bees hatching Part 2

In this second part, a much longer length of video is seen of these bees emerging from their cocoons. Being a little over an hour we see how they chew through their spun cocoons to finally become free and live outside for the next few months. I made this video a month or two ago when they first started emerging. But by the time I am posting this is May they are all done for the year, I still have some videos to share of them though so more to come.

A link to Part 1 in the series:

@solominer/mason-bees-hatching-part-1

Seeing them poke through the cocoon for the first time is pretty special. Though now I have seen them emerge dozens of times, and when not looking hundreds have emerged this way. So glad to see they are all doing well.

The size of these cocoons are about the size of a bean, picking one up you can tell by scale how tiny it is.

One of the antenna poking through, chewing its way through the cocoon. Sometimes they will push with their legs and maybe even using their antennae to help pry loose the cocoon walls.

Moving onto another cocoon the mason bee inside is quite busy trying to work its way out. I can hear them before I see them, so by the time they are chewing their way out they have been working in getting out for awhile.

They eventually open enough through days of chewing and I can see them and they can probably see me too. No idea how good their vision is, may be just motion based for most part.

Its almost there, but as the sun went down I had to turn off the camera. Having lights outside will disrupt their cycle so sometimes I just have to come back the next day. In this day the bee emerged by then.

Until next year, the next set of cocoons will form and then I will harvest again and the whole cycle will repeat with new bees emerging next year. Around April of 2021 we shall see them again and hope they find all my flowers as they tend to every year.

YouTube Video Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency