A good day to make soup

Its February and in my mind that means it's time to make soup, even though the temperatures feel like spring and we had our first tornado warning of the year this week. But a delicious pot of homemade soup is always good! Especially when you add some smoked kielbasa sausage to the pot, and some potatoes, and lots of savory seasonings — this feel-good, hearty, delicious soup reminds me of the cabbage soups my grandma used to make when I was a kid.

I wish I could squeeze you all around my table and ladle you up a steaming bowl for yourself right now. I have plenty to share!

1 pound kielbasa sausage, sliced into bite-sized pieces

2 tablespoons olive oil

3 medium leeks, white and pale green parts only

carrots, diced

celery, diced

1 small green cabbage, chopped into bite sized pieces.

3 cloves garlic, minced

6 cups chicken or vegetable stock

1 pound red potatoes, diced

1 tablespoon Italian type seasoning

1 bay leaf

You can use any type of sausage, brown it up and set it aside.

Add the olive oil, carrots, celery and leeks to the pan and saute for about 5 minutes. Add cabbage and garlic and saute for few more minutes.

Combine sausage, and sautéed vegetables into a large stockpot

Add raw potato chunks

Add broth and spices and cook until potatoes are done

Remove bay leaf before serving.

Enjoy!

5% of this posts rewards go to the Creative Cuisine Community and 5% goes to support Ecency. Remember to support the projects you enjoy using!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
59 Comments
Ecency