An Exciting Adventure in Quest For Stoken.

Hello everyone, today I am here to submit a review on the new game that is about to lunch. I actually had a glimpse of the game in the original contest post, so I decided to try it for myself and see how it goes. The name of the game is Quest For Stoken, here is the link to the contest post

The game is all about a dude on a skateboard, moving left to right with a shield made of the American flag and he is able to jump on to buildings. Now the skateboarder navigates through the game to find and kill monsters, the player is now rewarded with coins/points and sometimes you can gain health from killing the monsters.

So firstly when I clicked the link that was provided to the game, the page appeared and I think it had to load for a minute, or maybe my network was probably slow. So the next thing I saw when it was finally loaded was the Home Screen of the game. I was then required to press space bar to begin the game.

Here you can see the game loading

After loading


Learning the controls
When I pressed the spaced bar, the game started right away. But then I was kinda confused with what to do next, the controls were not shown and I had to figure out how to go about it myself. With my gaming instincts, I was able to find out some of the controls.

The space bar - Jump (press twice to perform a double jump)

The forward arrow key /D key - Moving forwards

The back arrow key/ A key-It’s used for moving backwards

The down arrow - used for ducking or we can say swerving.

The shift key -use the sword.

Z key- to use the shield 🛡️

R Key- Go back to the homepage

Now that we understand the game controls, let’s head straight to the gameplay.


The Gameplay
After wasting about 10 minutes on the starting point of the game, I got to learn how each controls work and now ready to kick some ass lol. So I proceeded with the game.

This is the starting point

When I moved a little I saw my first born fire, the screen displayed a text saying “Press X to start a born fire” and immediately I pressed, it started and actually released some coins for me. But after claiming the coins, I didn’t know where they went. So I don’t really know what to do with the coins here.

This is the born fire point

So as I proceeded with the game I then encountered my first monster in the game. At first I think I panicked and died a few times. After a while, I think I was able to master it a bit and killed the monster. I was rewarded with 50 points score and it made me happy lol but I died about 4 times trying to kill a single monster.

My first Monster Encounter

I really like the background sound it gives the game an extra touch to it. So on my way again I saw another monster again but this time I was well prepared and dealt with it easily and with skill as well. After killing that monster, I went forward and saw the end of that stage. It took me to another stage or let’s say world.

In the next stage I had become a little bit more better in the game and I was able to kill the monsters coming my way with ease. I realized that killing the monsters could also give you some extra health as well.

Starting Point of the second stage

Second Monster Encounter

Just when I was getting excited about the game, I encountered some birds. I must tell you, these birds are very annoying creatures and they can kill you very easily but they are also easy to kill. Just one strike of the sword and there are dead and you can claim coins or even health from them. Playing this game has thought me to always avoid the birds and you can also get distracted by the clouds too.

My first encounter with the birds (I was killed)

I ran quickly after killing some few monsters in the second stage just to try and avoid the birds. Then I moved to the next stage, after dying a few times I couldn’t continue the game anymore because I had start all over again from the first stage of the game. The clouds don’t seem visible in the screenshots here and just when I was about to enter the third stage I saw and Alien-like ship too but I wasn’t able to take a screenshot of it.

Third Stage

Overall, I think really had a great experience with the game and the only thing that only made the game more difficult for me were the birds. Trust me on this, avoid these birds lol.


My positive thoughts about the game

  • The overall game performance seems basic and balanced, I love the background sound too as well. It gives an extra touch, the graphics isn’t complicated as well.
  • The monster in the game are quite cool and the fact that they don’t sit at one exact points makes it cooler.
  • Even though I have complained about the birds, I think they make the game much harder for you and I like that about it. They also tend to follow you around just to hurt you and reduce your health.
  • The presence of the sword and skateboard gives a general adventurous feel to the game.
  • The hive logo at the starting page of the website also helps to promote the hive block chain.

Problems I Faced

  • One major problem about the game is that start page, the only option there is “press space bar”. I feel that there should be extra buttons available. For example a menu or settings where you can actually select your own keys and button configurations.
  • In the game I came across a QR code which I couldn’t understand its purpose in the game, or maybe just a glitch.
    The QR code I saw in the game
  • Also, I realize there isn’t a pause button available in the game which normally every game should have. For example when I wanted to take screenshots, I could come back to meet my player dead/killed by a monster.

So far this is all that I have to say about the game, but I have surely had a good time playing this game. It looks basic, but trust me it is very interesting and get you on your feet, it isn’t an easy one to play as you progress.

I would like to explore more into this game, I’m sure with a few fixes it will be a great game to play. Thank you for the time, I hope you guys find my post useful in any way to help improve the quality of the game.

All images are screenshots from the official website of Quest for stoken

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency