Game Review: Quest For Stoken

This is actually the first time I've tried out a game on the blockchain. And to think that I used t go crazy about games a while back. Here is my review on the game and I believe you would also like to try it out.

First of all, I had a hard time accessing the game because I was trying to use my phone to play. It would load and then go blank. I tried that for a few days before i finally thought to use my pc. So first lesson learnt: It's better to play on a computer.

After opening it on my pc, it took quiet some time to load and then the screen went blank again just as on the phone. So possibly, the phone was not the problem.


I was so excited when it finally loaded and gave the indication to tap the space bar to start.

The first thing I did was trying to understand the controls. I moved around following the instructions that were on display.

After a while, I got to understand enough to enable me play the game. This is a list of what I understood:

ButtonFunction
Space barUsed to jump
ShiftEnable the sword for attacking
ZEnable the armor for defense
XTo lit bonfires
Left-arrow keyTo move backwards
Right-arrow keyTo move forward

I figured out that l get coins whenever I lit up a bonfire and it was something I kept looking out for.
I had a hard time figuring how to double jump mid air but I finally did and I discovered to QR code for the discord channel.

Then I continued exploring, climbing higher and showing no mercy for any bonfire I come across.

Then I made it to Stakehive. I moved a bit and noticed there was an opponent one jump away.

Using my shield while attacking, I quickly got rid of the monster and earned some coins and points too.

I went back to the direction I came from since it seems to be a dead end after killing the monster. I found myself at the end of a cliff and when i tried to jump, I fell into a dark place.

I was back at the home page again and I made my way back to the cliff, jumped again and again lost my life. All this while, it didn't occur to me that I had a limited life span and was gradually loosing them. It was after my third try that I got a prompt saying 'game over' that made me realize I messed up. But that's the beauty of games, you can always go back and try again.


My Thoughts

After my first loss in the game, I made a few realizations

  • It takes quite a while for the game to load
  • I think more arrow signs should be included as a guide to show the player where to move to.
  • I came across a number of things and couldn't tell what their purpose is
  • I had an issue with double tapping my space key and shift. It gave a prompt for sticky keys which affect me. I had to disable it to enable me play peacefully.
    Aside these, I think the game is very cool and easy to play. Right after this post, I am going back to explore more and hopefully, I'm a pro by the time new updates are released.
    Here is the link for you to try it out for yourself
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency