Ode to Thich Nhat Hanh

As I washed the dishes this morning, I remembered a quote from one of Thich Nhat Hahn’s books, True Love. I absolutely adore this book. It’s short and clear. Some of the language is a bit antiquated, but the message is pure and visceral.

img_4667.jpg
IMG

He talked about washing the dishes being an act of love. I felt that so deeply in this moment - I laughed from the pit of my belly, a feeling of rejoice and gratitude!

Thank you, bowl, for helping me feed my children. Thank you to the sun and the earth that grow the food that feeds my family. Thank you water, for helping me clean this bowl, and for sustaining life as we know it. Thank you to the men who built the well that brings water to my faucet. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Thank you Thich Nhat Hahn, I thought, for coming into this world to teach us more about love and life - and here my laughter changed to a welling up and flowing of tears. There is too much to be thankful for, for me to even say thanks for all of it. I cried tears of gratitude and joy as I rubbed the dishes clean with my fingers.

img_4668.jpg
IMG

A great man has died. I know the part of him that was essential to his person remains, so I thank him once more for his sacrifice. I cry some more, overwhelmed by the shear magnitude of my blessings, the suffering of others, the confusion, anger and division spreading among mankind like a virus. I cried for so many things innumerable, and deep in the seat of my heart, joy resided in restful repose.

I don’t have a long post to write here, but if you see things as I do, you will see that this small post contains in it a single grain, and that this single grain, infinitesimal in its appearance, contains all that ever was, is, and will be. This, one of my shortest posts of all time, may in fact be the biggest, for those who have eyes to see.

I hope YOU have a wonderful day. I love you.
🙏

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency