Not everything looks like it seems.

Udu, the eyes of the gods stood before the king and his elders. He had just a white wrapper tied around his waist down to his knees leaving his white painted chest naked. His face wore no smile. One of his eyes was covered in white chalk and in his mouth were dry leaves. He spat them out before the king.

pexels-kenex-media-sa-1427273.jpg
Kenex M, pexels

"The gods are angry," he blurted. The gods are very angry. Until he who has that which does not belong to him returns it, it shall continue to rain blood, chaos and disaster in the land of Umudu. Do the right thing! The gods are angry! The gods......are angry!! The gods are angry!!! With these last words, he turned and walked away.

"My king, I think it's high time we consulted another oracle. I hear the oracle mouthpiece at Agbor village sees everything. Perhaps he will find a solution to this". Elder Ezenei, the king's right hand man and the oldest amongst the elders, spoke.

"I don't know why you are even suggesting this?" countered Elder Ochie a younger looking elder who was recently inducted into the elders-in-council. Instead of us solving the parable, we are looking for another mouthpiece. Do you want more parables? He shouted at him.

"Why are you shouting at me? Am I the cause of the problem that has befallen us? What's the meaning of this nonsense? My king warn Ochie. I will not take this from him. He needs to be reminded that I wore this title even before he learnt how to tie his wrapper". Elder Ezenei warned, pointing directly at Ochie and fuming with anger.

pexels-photo-4176695.jpeg
Jennifer E,pexels

Another wailing broke out from somewhere in the village interrupting Elder Ogonnaya who was already standing to address the king. Ogonnaya, the calm one amongst the three elders bowed before the king, removed his red cap and held it close to his chest.

"Yet another death! How much more? Should we continue like this until we lose our firstborn sons? Ogonnaya lamented, still facing the king. "My king, you need to do something about this and fast. Tomorrow, it might be your household". Ogonnaya took his seat waiting for the king's response while Ochie and Elder Ezenei resumed their argument.

"Silence!" commanded the king. "Silence both of you. I have thought long and hard about this situation and I have made a decision". The king stood up from his seat and paced around his throne. He looked at his elders-in-council. He knew they would not accept what he was about to say but his hands are tied and desperate times require desperate measures.

"Ichie Ezenei, please send one of the guards to fetch me Dikpa, the drunk"

At the mention of Dikpa, the elders exchanged glances. They wondered if the king had gone mad. What has the drunk got to do with what is happening? Ichie Ezenei stood up nevertheless and bowed before the king before taking his leave to go get a guard.

"I know you are all wondering why Dikpa, the drunk. I've thought hard about what Udu said. Seven times have I called him and seven times have he given me the same response. He that has what does not belong to him should return it." He paused and looked at them again weighing each their thoughts. Everyone was paying rapt attention. The king folded his arms across his chest and shook his head.

"The calamity that has befallen our village started after I was crowned king about six full moons ago" he continued. "Before I was crowned king, I was taking a stroll around the village when I met Dikpa and his words to me are still very fresh in my memory. He told me that I shouldn't take what does not belong to me. He commended that I am a good man and do not deserve to suffer for what I do not know of".

"This is arrant nonsense" Ochie interjected. I don't even know why you should take anything that a drunk says seriously".

"My king, what is that thing you do not know of? Elder Ogonnaya inquired.

"That's exactly why I need Dikpa here today. I think he might have an idea why our community is going through so much travail".

Dikpa arrived with a bottle of palm wine safely clinged under his right arms. His steps were disorderly. He struggled to keep up with the guard but the more he tries the more he moves two steps forward and a step backward. Everyone patiently waited for him to arrive.

"Why has the almighty king sent for a drunk like me? He fumed, standing in the middle of the hut. "Doesn't the king know that the sun is hot and Dikpa needs to take some palm wine to calm down his brain?

"I know Dikpa, apologies", started the king. "I summoned you here because of what you told me some time ago in the past. You said I shouldn't take what does not belong to me. Is that why the land of Umudu is suffering?

Dikpa burst into laughter. "Oh king! May you live forever but not as a king"

At his words, the guards rushed at him but the king raised his hand stopping them on their track.

"Dikpa, what do you mean? Do not speak in parables" urged the king.

"My king, this throne does not belong to you. It belongs to your step brother who your mother turned mad with her evil charms because she wanted you to become king. Until he is found and crowned king, this calamity shall never leave the people of Umudu." With these words, Dikpa staggered out of the palace singing incoherently.

There was a deafening silence.The king's late mother is the reason for all that has befallen the people of Umudu. What a revelation.

The king found his voice. "My elders, I do not doubt the words of Dikpa. We all know he never speaks a lie albeit a drunk man. Today I decree that my mad brother be released from the mad people's home and brought to me. He shall be crowned king immediately. If indeed Dikpa is right, the madness shall depart from him and the calamities that have befallen us shall cease".

"The king has spoken and his will shall be done", chorused the elders.

pexels-photo-3193551.jpeg
Magda E, pexels

Ikemefuna the mad prince was found and returned to the throne where he rightfully belonged and just as the king had predicted, he was healed immediately the crown was placed on his head and peace and tranquility returned to the people of Umudu.

I couldn't find perfect pictures to depict my story from the free to use websites so I made use of what could find.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency