They Came from Above: A #51 Inkwell prompt short story.

ufo-4987627_640.jpgsource

πŸ…²πŸ…ΎπŸ…ΌπŸ…ΌπŸ…°πŸ…½πŸ…³πŸ…΄πŸ†'πŸ†‚ πŸ…»πŸ…ΎπŸ…Ά

π™½πšŠπš–πšŽ: π™·πšŽπš›πš–πšŠπš— π™³πš˜πš πš•πš’πš—πš
π™°πšπšŽ: 𝟹𝟼
π™»πš˜πšŒπšŠπšπš’πš˜πš—: π™Ώπš‘πšŠπšœπšŽπš› π™Όπš˜πšπš‘πšŽπš› πš‚πš‘πš’πš™

"Mission control do you copy? I repeat do you copy?... This is commander Herman. Look, we're sitting ducks out here. My God! I've watched as these creatures tore my soldiers apart and I'm afraid I might be the last man standing. Uhh... I can hear their breathing now– they're getting closer! They'll soon find out where I'm hiding!
Please if any one is receiving this message, tell R.I.P to stop the feeding! Please! Tell them I've found a way!...

I know I won't make it out of here alive but at least I can save everybody else – I can even save her too..."

If you told me 3 years ago that I would go from playing a Mozart concerto in Carnegie Hall to fighting as an R.I.P soldier in the Phaser invasion, I would've simply called you a mad man. However, it will seem as though that God in the sky had other plans for humanity. Just why he chose to send those Demons here to Earth? I have no idea. All I know is that I have to keep fighting to protect the ones I love.

3 Years ago...

|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

It was June 12 2042, and I was about to give my debut performance of Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 2 with the New York Philharmonic orchestra. Honestly, I was very nervous but once I was called on stage to sit at the piano, I was welcomed by a warm feeling, a feeling that gave me comfort and zeal. The feeling arose not because of the huge ensemble that awaited me on stage and neither was it because of the huge number of audiences who applauded my entrance. No... for when I sat on that piano, all I could really see were the two most important people in my life - my wife, Wendy and daughter, Lucy.

I gave a warm smile to them before the performance began. We had played through the entire first movement of the piece before getting to the slow and very melancholic second movement – the Adagio sostenuto.

As I played, I couldn't help but feel an overwhelming sense of sadness come over me. "Was it because of the music?" I thought for a second but later shrugged it off my mind and kept focusing on the music. Once we got to the final coda of the movement I was already in tears. But why?... I mean this was a piece I had practiced over and over and frankly, I was getting really sick of hearing it. "So why then? Why now is it making me so emotional?" I thought as I played the last few notes of the movement.

Already, I could hear screaming and shrieking coming from the audiences even with the loud ringing in my ear. It was quite uncommon for them to scream so loud at a performance. "Was it that good?" I thought to myself as I lifted my hands from the piano and rose my head above facing the ceiling with eyes closed.

I breathed a sigh of relief and for a moment, just for a moment, I felt an unexplainable calmness come upon me – ahh...such sweet bliss. Then suddenly, the screams grew louder! So loud that immediately sprung my eyes open and then, from just above the glass ceiling, I saw this horrifying creature burst through the glass and charge directly at me. I could've sworn it was an angel or maybe it was some sort of winged demon. Ha!... the trauma would not let me remember clearly but one thing was for sure - it was as utterly unbelievable as it was terrifying.

The creature crashed and landed on the piano so hard that I was flung all the way from my seat to the end of the stage. I remained on the stage floor beat up pretty bad and quite dazed. And it was not until I turned to the audience that I realized the true meaning behind their screaming; for i watched as these creatures attacked everybody in the audience sparing not a single soul. Many were killed and devoured, fewer were taken by the creatures and I, still in the moment of my perfect despair, thought only one thing - "Where's Wendy and Lucy?..."

Soon, very cautiously, I sneaked from the stage and moved past a few rows at the corner of the audience seats. I did so very quietly so those creatures would not notice me. Then, when I got to Wendy and Lucy's seat, I saw an unspeakable tragedy. An image that would haunt me for the rest of my life - it was my mutilated wife. And just under her seat there hid my very scared and traumatized 3 year old, Lucy. But regardless of all the tragedy , it was clear that this was no time to cry for I still had to get Lucy to safety first...

That was the first time the Phasers attacked Earth...

|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
June 12, 2045 – Present Day(Approximately 3 years after first Phaser invasion)

|
|
|
|
|
|
|

On June 12 2042, Earth faced it's most darkest hours: It was the first ever invasion from the mysterious creatures known as the Phasers – A nick name we gave the creatures due to their unique ability to phase through any object or matter. Some have even come to believe that these winged creatures are simply just Angels and demons that have been sent by the almighty God to cleanse this world of evil thereby beginning the apocalypse. Hence, the devouring of people and the abducting of others.

When the Phasers first attacked New York, there was a world wide panic between all nations so much do that even AREA 51 came out of hiding to help with the invasion. But alas, even with all the highly advanced military grade weaponry and extra terrestrial allies, it was still not enough to stop the Phasers.

Every 3 months, the phasers will come from Above the sky like Angels and feast upon hundreds of thousands of people while only taking back with them a few hundred. This ritual went on for about 2 years with all the world forces unable to do anything about the creatures.

Earth was at its final stand and at this rate, humanity would be wiped out completely in a matter of years.
Fortunately a rather bizarre and desperate intiative was put in place by all the world leaders and by their new enforcement – R.I.P – in order to deal with this extinction temporarily. The initiative was known as the The feeding. It involved a Global census were by 10,000 people from around the world would be randomly selected as sacrifices for the Phasers.

This concensus sort of served as a means of treaty between the two life forms. Even though it was a pretty desperate intiative, it did however, seem to work. The Phasers were no longer destroying infrastructure or haunting down people in their homes, instead they feasted on the scarifices made available to them.

Obviously, everybody was terrified and skeptical about the whole intiative at first. Many even claimed it was some scheme adopted by the government just so they could live off the civilian's deaths . However, all doubt were completely erased when all the world leaders, including some few other governmental electives, volunteered to be the first scarifices for the phasers in this new intiative. It was by far the most shocking stream that aired around the world. But as noble as that act was, it simply just showed the world how there really was no hope and that the only possible solution we have is - inevitable death ...

Dark times came for my family again and I had to join the R.I.P special forces team because my daughter, Lucy was randomly selected as one of the sacrifices for the phasers 8th feeding. Initially, it was quite hard for me to join the team but after I single handedly killed a Phaser with a piano string, they ended up recruiting me for their final and most crucial mission of all time – Operation QUEEN KILL. A mission that would not only end this invasion for good, but one that will also allow me to avenge my wife's death and save my daughter in the process. So today, on the anniversary of my wife's death and on the day of my daughter's execution I set out to save them... to save all life...

|
war-469503_640.jpg
source
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

Inside the Phaser Mother Ship – Ten hours after Operation: QUEEN KILL deployment

Mission control do you copy? I repeat do you copy?... This is commander Herman. Look, we're sitting ducks out here. My God! I've watched as these creatures tore my soldiers apart in the most brutal of ways and I'm afraid I might be the last man standing. Uhh... I can hear their breathing now– they're getting closer! They'll soon find out where I'm hiding!
Please if any one is receiving this message, tell R.I.P to stop the feeding! Please! Tell them I've found a way!...

I know I won't make it out of here alive but at least I can save everybody else – I can save her too... All I need to do is kill this damn queen and then we'll all be saved. Yeah.. that's all I need to do...Ahh, please help me tell Lucy that I love her would ya?... Tell her daddy's finally gone above to get mommy and end all this...

|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

2 Months later after the Invasion – THE PASSING

Dear Daddy,

How's it up there in the sky?...
I hope it's not as boring as it is here on Earth. I hate school so much!!!
Hey Dad, people here have been calling you a hero. I think if you were here you would've liked that. You know I never got to actually thank you daddy so... THANK YOU for saving me and for saving the world!!!

I still miss you and I miss mommy too! How is she? I hope she's fine! Please tell her I Love her and that I wanna come visit the above soon. Yep! Because we'll have so much fun together!...

But until then...

Hugs and kisses,

Lucy Dowling.

πŸ†ƒπŸ…·πŸ…°πŸ…½πŸ…ΊπŸ†‚ πŸ…΅πŸ…ΎπŸ† πŸ†πŸ…΄πŸ…°πŸ…³πŸ…ΈπŸ…½πŸ…Ά πŸ…°πŸ…½πŸ…³ πŸ…ΊπŸ…΄πŸ…΄πŸ…Ώ πŸ…΄πŸ†‡πŸ…ΏπŸ…»πŸ…ΎπŸ†πŸ…ΈπŸ…½πŸ…Ά

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency