The Inkwell Prompt #47: The Unlikely Hero

Danny Almighty and the Inner voice

IMG-20220107-WA0000.jpg
source

It was 6:00am in the morning and Danny was still fast asleep when he heard a voice whisper in his ear "Wake up Danny... Wake up my son." Danny's eyes opened immediately as he ruffled around his bed in frustration. "What do you want now God?..."

This was not the first time the inner voice had spoken to Danny. In fact, he had been hearing this inner voice for many years now. He eventually came to regard the voice as the Voice of God. The voice went on to become his guardian, companion, and friend.

"I have a quest for you my son." the voice whispered. "Oh no. A quest? That's never good..." Danny said nervously. "Have no fear my son for if you excel in this quest of mine, you shall gain a whole new enlightenment than never before...." the voice of God assured him. "Well... looks like I don't really have a choice do I? I'm in! I just hope this quest of yours doesn't end up breaking me this time." Danny replied. "You always have a choice my son. Remember, I will always stretch you,even to your very limit, but I will ensure I never break you" the voice assured him as it faded away.
Danny thought about those last few words the inner voice had told him and then remarked: "Wait what?..."

IMG-20220107-WA0006.jpg

source

Meanwhile in the Mary Wellington apartment in Maple street, Officer Lance Fisher was busy getting ready to head to the police station when he heard a voice whisper to him: "Lance my son..." Lance was so startled by the sudden voice that he spilled some of his coffee on his uniform. "Oh You've gotta be kidding!... is that you God?" Lance exclaimed. "So to what pleasure do I owe this unexpected visit?" "I have a quest for you my son." the inner voice answered. A quest huh?... well I'm on duty this week chief so... you're gonna have to find another guy. Sorry!" replied Lance. "No my son...this is ideal is much greater than you can imagine. It has to be you!" the voice urged Lance. "Hmm...well if you put it like that...What do I have to do?..." Lance replied.

"At exactly noon, take your equipment with you to the forest, hide in some bushes, and wait there for a moment." the voice commanded. "Hmm... why? Are we going hunting" Lance chuckled in. "No, not yet. But it is there you would meet 5 men whom will pass by. The rest of them you must punish but the man with the hidden mask you will spare the voice commanded again. Wait a minute... I don't understand. What do you mean? Lance asked in confusion. But the voice only repeated the same instructions and faded away. "Wait!" Jerry called out to the already faded voice. "*I don't understand? What's all this for?... I have a meeting at noon!..."

IMG-20220107-WA0005.jpg

source

As Danny walked down Kennedy street, he heard the inner voice speak to him again: "Are you ready for your quest?" it spoke. "Ahh...Finally! I was starting to think we weren't doing it again. So, what do I have to do? Lead the way..." Danny replied. "Very good. I think a withdrawal is in order. Why not head into the Bank?" the voice urged him. "Okayyy..." said Danny in a skeptical tone.

IMG-20220107-WA0004.jpg

source

IMG-20220107-WA0003.jpg
source

After moments of waiting on cue at the bank, it was finally Danny's turn at the withdrawal desk. "What are you doing here dropout?" asked the lady at the counter. "Haha... good morning to you to Karen" Danny remarked. "I would like to make a withdrawal" "Ha!.. a withdrawal? You don't have any money.." his friend said humorously. "Come on Karen this is serious, I'm on an important...."
Suddenly, the doors of the bank sprung open and gunshots started firing to the ceiling. "Everybody get down this is a robbery!" yelled one of the robbers as the other robber rounded up the people in the bank and instructed them to lay flat on the floor. "Oh God... what now?" Danny thought nervously to himself. "Now as long as nobody says or does anything, no one's gonna get hurt" the robber urged the people as they rounded up the money from the vault.

Moments after the robbers had taking all the money they wanted, the police showed up. "Oh shit scabo! It's the cops! What are we gonna do?" says one of the robbers. "Ah Damn it!... quickly grab one of these people. Looks like we're taking a hostage today boys" says the supposed leader of the robbers.

"Hey you!.. Get up! Come on get up!" says one of the robbers as he reaches for a child on the floor. "Please! please!!! Don't take my son!" cries out the boy's mother. "Shut up lady!" replies the robber as he continues to drag the child away from her.

Amidst all this drama, Danny could not help but feel helpless. He then silently called out to God "Is this the quest huh? Me watching a boy being taking as hostage?!!" but the inner voice only spoke these words "follow your heart". Suddenly, something came upon Danny so much so that he got up from the floor and yelled "Wait!! Take me instead!"

Everybody was shocked, even the robbers. "Hey now buddy! Why don't you just shut up and get back on the ground! Now is not the time to be a hero son..." the chief robber proclaimed. "Yeah Danny now's not the time to be a hero!" his friend Karen whispered to him from the floor.
But Danny did not listen, instead he continued: "You don't wanna take that boy, his probably not even worth a lot of ransom money. Take me instead, my parents are filthy rich and they just love me so much that they would do anything for me! They would pay any amount!"

For a moment,there was a pause of confusion, then one of the robbers said to the chief "Scabo, his gotta a point though! We could totally make big bank of a rich boy!" Scabo was reluctant but conceded at the end."Hmm.. perhaps. Aiit, grab the hero, mask him up, and lets get out of here!" he gestured hastily to his men. Soon, they used their at gun point hostage, to get pass by the police outside and zoomed off!

IMG-20220107-WA0002.jpg

source

Now in the forest, the unmasked robbers along with their masked hostage – Danny – continued chatting ominously amongst themselves: "Oh we gonna make good money of this one ey scabo?" says one robber. "Yeah... but we gotta have some fun with him first!.." says the other as they all laughed. Danny however, was overwhelmed with fear. He gulped down and whispered to himself "this better be my limit God!... And then almost immediately, one of the robbers fell to the floor. "Jamie? What in the?..." Scabo exclaimed as he and the other robbers fell also to the floor. They were hit with fast acting tranquilizer darts that rendered them unconscious.

Moments later, Lance came out of the bushes that he hid in and removed the mask from Danny. "Danny?" he remarked. "Officer Lance! Thank goodness your here!" Danny replied in relieve. "So you're the hidden mask guy? Looks like God was right... the officer said to himself "Huh?... what was that?" Danny asked confusedly. "Oh... it's nothing . So you got yourself Kidnapped huh? Mind telling me how that happened?" the officer questioned. Danny then looked around and saw the robbers on the floor and said: "its a long story". "Hmm...I bet. Tell me about it on the way home. Come on help me get these men inside the truck" the officer urged him.

IMG-20220107-WA0001.jpg

source

While in the truck, Danny narrated to Lance everything that had happened to him. "Ha!... so who would've thought that college dropout, Danny Almighty, would've become the unlikely hero of this here story."

As Danny stared out the car window wondering what this entire quest was all about, the inner voice whispered to him: "so you see sacrificing oneself for the good of others is the most noblest of all acts." "so that's what this was all about?!!! Weren't you the one who told me to save that boy?!!!" Danny proclaimed. "No my son. I never told you to save him. I just told you to follow your heart. You made the decision." the voice said. "You see... Love is an invisible thread that connects all souls in this world. To realize that thread, is to realize divine truth. When you sacrifice yourself for another, you have proven that you are indeed able to conceive of this truth. the voice spoke once more. Hmm... I think I understand Danny said softly.
"Hey who're you talking to back there?" officer Lance asked in confusion? Realizing this, Danny answered "Oh!... no one really. Just my inner voice..."

Thanks for reading and keep exploring!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency