A False Reckoning - Tales from an Animal Kingdom.

photo-1534450539339-6d1c81ad18e2.jpeg
Cody Board



A False Reckoning - Tales from an Animal Kingdom.

It was many and many a century ago, in a mystical magical land long forgotten by history; where there lived a kind and naive little old fellow, by the name of Hughie rabbit.

Like most other animals in the Kindgom, Hughie would fancy himself going for the annual "Fiddle of the Hearts" festival which was hosted by King Bear in his enormous castle at the top of Mount Seamore. However, this year's particular visit to the festival would prove rather significant for the little old rabbit.

Honey, have you seen my carrot cake? You know I hate travelling all the way to Mount Seamore without a carrot in my sack.

Said Hughie rabbit to his wife Martha Fox.

Oh you silly old coop! I left it on your desk remember?

Martha replied

Oh! On my desk you say? Hmm, I don't remember that. I guess I must've forgotten then. So sorry for bugging you hun.

Said Hughie with a slightly embarrassed look on his face.

Ahhh... What am I going to do with you silly rabbit? Anyway, have fun out there now would you?

Martha says to Hughie as he grabs his coat and heads off for his journey to Mount Seamore.

Certainly! You know I would. Oh and dear..

Hughie rabbit bellowed to his wife, sticking his head from out the front door one last time before leaving.

I know, I know - Have some carrot cake ready when you get back! Yes I know. Now, just go have fun my love!

Ugh yes... Certainly.

Hughie said in a light tone before finally leaving.

While on the wagon heading straight for Mount Seamore, Hughie saw many many wonderful beautiful things you would often see when traveling across the Kingdom. These things, in particular, where one of the many reasons why Hughie embarked on this Journey across the Kingdom.

Oh, how Hughie enjoyed looking at the many adoring landscapes and animals from out his wagon window. He loved to see the great blue sky, the green lily fields, the beautiful parade of Ox and Ostriches, and the breath taking dances of the Night sprites. Oh yes, truly he loved all these wonderful things.

photo-1499343162160-cd1441923dd3.jpeg
Jay

It took about a day or so for Hughie to arrive at Mount Seamore and once he arrived at the great big castle, he knew he was at home once more.

Ahhh... What a great big castle that is! It overwhelms me every time.

Said Hughie rabbit as he walked passed by the gates of the ginormous castle.

Inside the castle, Hughie was met with a very large and diverse display of festival activities. To his left, he could see what looked like flying elephants dancing to an orchestra in mid air. And to his right, he could see cats dancing on some sort of Broadway looking stage. But above all these other marvelous antics, was the Cyproliphius Symphony Orchestra - An orchestra filled with the most unique and diverse group of animals and creatures you could possibly ever find. This part of the festival was Hughie's absolute favourite.

When it was time for the closing act to perform - the Cyproliphius Orchestra that is - Hughie made sure he took a seat right in the front row of the audience and as the orchestra's magical music played, Hughie felt more and more that his heart would explode out of love and happiness. And just then, amidst the swarming delights of ecstasy, Hughie realized something:

You know what would make this whole performance better? Left over carrot cake!

Then with hands buried down into his sack and an eagerness on his face, Hughie reached for his left over piece of Carrot cake.

Hmm... What a delicious carrot cake. Say, would you care to join me in listening to this delightful music?

Hughie said as he gently directed the cake to his mouth but oh no! Something must've gone wrong there because Hughie's hands slipped and the cake fell to the ground.

Oh dear! What are you doing on the floor you silly carrot cake? Come back here and get into my mouth.

Hughie said as he bent over to reach for his carrot cake which had fallen under his seat.

Now, I'm sure we would agree that what happened next was nothing short of a miracle and a rare display of serendipity because immediately Hughie rabbit bent down to pick up his cake, a loose arrow which accidentally launched itself from the top corner of the archer's training tower, flew across the air and hit Hughie's seat only just missing his head by a few inches.

By this time, everybody at the festival was completely in shock and not a single sound could be heard across the palace; all at least, but the naive little voice of Hughie rabbit ruffling under his chair:

Argh... Where are you my delicious friend?

Oh yes, it wasn't until Hughie had heard the loud sounding cheer of the crowd which surrounded him, that the finally realized that the concert had stopped.

What? What's everyone cheering about? Why did the orchestra stop playing?

Hughie said in confusion as the crowd continued cheering:

He's a fortune teller! He saw the future!

Said a giraffe from the crowd

No, he's a wizard. He used his magic to stop the arrow!

Said a wolf. And finally

No, no! You are all wrong! He's a wise man! A very wise man!

Said King Bear whom got up from his throne and came to honor Hughie for his extraordinary ability. And from that day on, Hughie was no longer known as Old Hughie rabbit but as Wise Hughie rabbit.

photo-1519872436884-4a50eb5a62db.jpeg
Jenn Finley

Days had passed since the festival and since Hughie's magical display of fortune telling and yet still, the old rabbit had catered to more than 30 visitors, including the King, whom had all visited him in hopes of getting their futures read. Of course, Hughie told them that what had happened was no magic but was simply a play of chance and good timing:

Look, I am not magical. Oh no! I wish I was actually but I'm not. Please, forgive my serendipity and do not confuse it with fortune telling please.

Ah... but alas, the Kindgom would not stopping coming to his home to pester him with their various questions. Utterly overwhelmed by all the disturbance, Hughie rabbit made up his mind to pay a visit to the King so he may help sort out the misconception.

Oh Martha, I think I would go see the king soon concerning what's been happening. Frankly, it's just getting way too much!

Hughie said to Martha as they both sat in their living room by the fire place.

Yes! You better do quickly because I'm running out of carrot cake to give all these guests we've been having.

Martha replied.

Running out of carrot cake? Hmm... I think I will go tomorrow then.

Hughie replied slightly concerned.

The next day, Hughie set off to visit the King but upon reaching his palace, there seemed to be a little debate over the whole thing:

Wise old rabbit! What are you saying? I saw it with my own eyes! You escaped the arrow as if you new it were coming directly towards your head. Surely you knew it was coming didn't you?

The king quarried.

No sire, you have me mistakened. I didn't know of any arrows and certainly if I did, I surely do not posses the power or agility to dodge them. Believe me sire, I am but a simple and humble old rabbit whom just wants to live his life in peace..

Hughie beckoned on the king.

Hmm... Wise old rabbit, I can't say that I do believe you. However, do me this one thing and I will command that no one shall ever again disturb you in your home.

The Bear king said to the rabbit.

Hmm... Very well sire. What is your request?

Hughie asked the king.

Tell me, would there be snow tomorrow? Answer this now and if truly it doesn't snow, I will make sure i issue the command for every animal to leave you alone. However, if truly it does snow tomorrow, you would remain the Kindgom's Wise old Rabbit all over again. Do we have an agreement?

This was the criteria the king had given to Hughie Rabbit.

Upon hearing this, Hughie thought long and hard about his answer until he finally came to the conclusion that since it was summer, then there should be a higher chance of sunlight tomorrow. And so therefore, all he really had to do now was choose the exact opposite of his answer and he would be free from all this burden.

I agree Sire and I reckon it would snow very very heavily tomorrow.

Said Hughie and with these words he bided the King a farewell and returned home. And surprisingly, the next morning, there was a Blizzard storm.

Thanks for reading and keep exploring!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency