Tired, But Not Retired

copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_night_sky_stars_facebook_post.jpg

"Maybe it's time for me to retire... I'm getting too old for this!" thought the veteran undercover agent. Mick Gardes turned off his headlights and sighed as he approached the sleepy little seaside community of Port Silence.

"Well there she is - the Hera." he whispered. While he sat in the old Chevy, admiring the early morning scene, the fishing vessel almost seemed to take on a life of her own. Her sleek, dark hull was one with the water, and golden accents highlighted her lines.

"I sure hope this one is fast and easy..." he thought, as he got down to business. Casual shirt, slacks, and loafers were exchanged for a white tee shirt turned grey with age, old dirty jeans, and rubber boots. A well groomed beard was shaved down to appear as stubble. Red hair dyed black.



"Do you need a deck hand?" Mick asked the captain of the Hera, once life had returned to the dock.

"No, but I'm looking for someone to help pull in nets." replied the middle aged captain of the vessel.

"I'm up for that." he replied, grinning to display his teeth, carefully stained a deep yellow the night before.

Several hours later, "Larry" as Mick had introduced himself, was busily hauling up fishing nets in the Atlantic Ocean. Listening to the crew, everything seemed normal.

"Maybe that informant was lying. And I'm out here breaking my back on a wild fish chase..." he thought, grimly. On the way back to port, he flashed his high powered tactical light twice towards the coastal road, the prearranged signal for "Nothing to report." A pair of headlights switched off and on twice in reply.

After three days of normal activity, he had decided that the Hera was in fact exactly what she appeared to be: a beautiful but simple fishing vessel. He would finish the week, then move on, as so many tend to do in such a life.

On day four, the nets seemed lighter. There were definitely fewer fish. He wasn't complaining, and neither was his aging back. Just as Mick was about to give his usual two flashes from his hiding spot behind a lifeboat, he heard something. Captain Park was opening the hatch to the hold, to check out the catch. He had never done this before.

Captain Park removed his knife from its sheath, and slit open a large fish. Inside, there was a plastic bag. While Mick couldn't see the contents, he had a good idea of what they were. The captain grunted in approval, then tossed the fish overboard. After he cleaned off the bag and tucked it in his jacket, he descended into the galley.

Mick quickly flashed four times towards the road, and received the same in confirmation. He smiled. Those backbreaking hours of work had been worth it after all. Shutting down this operation would save countless lives. "Maybe I have a few years left in me after all..." he thought, starting to remember the deep satisfaction his job brought.

"Don't move, Mister." Came a whisper which any other time might have been mistaken for a dog's growl. Accompanying it was the familiar feeling of the barrel of a pistol, pressed against the back of his head. "A .44 if I'm not mistaken..." Mick thought idly.

"Hey. What do you think you're doing?" Mick asked, injecting fear into his voice. It wasn't too difficult. No matter how many times he had been at Death's doorstep, it always gave him an adrenaline rush.

"Why weren't you in the galley, with everyone else?" asked Captain Park, without moving his pistol.

"I needed to stretch, my old back is about to give out on me. I'd take easier work if I could find it." he confided.

"You're lying! I was first in, and you never came down. When I came out for a stroll, I couldn't find you. Where were you? Were you in the hold?" he snarled.

"No, I never touched it after we shut the hatch." Mick replied truthfully.

"I wish I could believe you. But I don't. So there is going to be a little accident." the captain informed him, with an evil grin. He then removed the knife from Mick's belt, and did a quick search of his jacket.

"I don't know what you are doing, Captain. Please, just let me go. I won't tell anyone that you threatened me, I promise!" begged the agent, trying to keep the criminal off guard. If he suspected that there would be a welcoming committee at the dock, anything could happen.

"I can't do that. It's too risky. Get into that net over there." Park replied gruffly.

"Then let me in on whatever this is. I already told you, my body's beat. I've been looking for a new line of work. If what you are doing is good money, and will give me an easier life, I'm in." he suggested hopefully.

"Let me think on it..." replied Captain Park thoughtfully.

"Great! Let me know when you decide - partner!" said Mick enthusiastically. He knew full well it wouldn't be that easy, but played his part to perfection.

"Not so fast, hot shot. You'll be staying in my quarters until I decide." growled Park menacingly.



Bound and gagged, Agent Mick Gardes sincerely hoped that backup would be waiting. He knew too many of Park's type. They never trusted anyone, and were almost impossible to fool for long. Left to think things through, the Captain would send him to see Davey Jones.

As he was waiting to arrive at the dock, he managed to crawl and roll to an old trunk. It was unlocked! Awkwardly lifting the lid with his head, he eventually found a fillet knife, and managed to get it out of the sheath. Minutes later, he was free.

Armed with the fillet knife, Mick bundled some blankets to look like him, then hid behind the door, listening. Soon he felt the Hera gently bump the dock, and mentally readied himself for action.

It didn't take long. Seconds later, he heard the sounds of chaos. Panicked men were swearing, and several guns were fired. The door burst open, and the frightened youth who had been hired to do various unpleasant tasks rushed in.

"Don't worry, Joe. Just stay here until things settle." Mick reassured him, as he stepped out into the battle.

"Keep your men back! I have a hostage. Someone I suspect is important to you." sneered Park. The men on the dock retreated behind vehicles.

Mick had him clearly in view, a silhouette outlined by the headlights of at least a dozen squad cars. He rushed Park from behind, subduing him in seconds.

"About that deal... I don't take on partners who tie me up. Thanks but no thanks!" he whispered in Park's ear.

Full credit goes to @tattoodjay and edited by me using Canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
57 Comments
Ecency