The Leprechaun Hunter

beige_elegant_the_wedding_invitation_photo_collage.jpg

Mark Gace smiled. If ever there was a man who knew where to find leprechauns, it had to be the owner of this pub. Not only did its handpainted sign feature a leprechaun with a crown on his head, but it was tucked away in the greenest and most secluded spot Ireland had to offer.

As he walked into the little stone building, he noticed that it was well lit, and spotless. It felt genuinely homey. Then he spotted a white haired man, small in stature but obviously still in good health. He was humming softly as he wiped out already clean glasses.

"Hello, Sir. My name is Mark Gace. I'm looking to meet one of Ireland's famous leprechauns." he said, as an introduction.

"Leprechauns? We don't get many people askin' 'bout them anymore, Mr. Gace..." said Colby O'Malley, the elderly owner of The King's Finest. He rubbed his stubble as he grinned to himself. He tended to get the few who did ask though.

"I understand that, Sir. But I am a true believer. I flew ten thousand miles to see one." replied the man. He looked the part too, with the patched trousers, casual sweater that may very well have been a Christmas present from five or ten years ago, and wide brim hat which looked suspiciously like an heirloom.

"Well, if ye believe, and yer intentions are pure, the Wee Folk may smile on ye yet. Just know, I've never heard of a visitor being given the privilege."

"Thank you for your kindness, Sir. I have heard rumors about why your pub is called The King's Finest. Should you want to contact me again, here's my card. If there's any way..." he asked, eyes searching the elder man's imploringly.

"I'll let ye know..." he promised.

Just as Mark started to turn, Colby stopped him. "Oh, one more thing. Exactly what would ye do if ye actually met a leprechaun?" he asked, curiously.

"I would say hello!" replied Mark Gace happily, as he left.

"I figured that. It's what ye would do next that worries me..." mused the old man, after the tourist was gone.



"Yes, Your Majesty. He claims he just wants to meet one of yer kind. But I don't know... Most people these days always want somethin'. It might be dangerous to reveal yerself." said the old man thoughtfully.

"Colby O'Malley, nothin' has changed! As I recall, ye wanted a great deal yerself as a lad." he replied, chuckling at the memory.

"That I did... And I be forever grateful to yerself fer making it reality." said the old man sincerely.

"There's not been a mortal born who could outwit me, except if I will it. Send the lad to me. I'll meet him at the same spot where you called Rusty off of me nephew, Colin."

"Very well, your majesty. Do be careful!" replied Colby.

"Ye don't live long enough to become King Of The Leprechauns by being careless! Say, that reminds me. When are ye going to make yer third wish, me dear friend?"

Colby chuckled, eyes shining merrily. "I don't know... I have an eternity to decide, after all."

"True, true. A wise man, indeed!"



Mark Gace leaned on an ancient fence post, taking in the rolling green hills as he waited. "Soon my dream will be a reality!" he thought to himself, smiling.

"Help! Help! Get away, ye blasted hawk!" yelled a strong but tiny voice, close to a wagon which had seen better days.

Mark ran over, and sure enough, there was a hawk poking a beak underneath the collapsed front wheel. He gently shooed the creature away, then peered underneath.

"Hello, my name is Mark Gace. Colby O'Malley suggested that I come here." he said politely.

"Tis a pleasure to meet you, Mr. Gace." replied the voice. Then a small man, perhaps three feet tall, emerged. His attire was magnificent. Every shade of green to be found in nature was tastefully blended in the fine silk. Trimmed at the cuffs, collar, and waist with gold, the outfit was truly fit for a king. Which was appropriate, because sitting atop his head was a jewel encrusted crown.

"Allow me to introduce meself, Mr. Gace. King McConnell. And ye have done me a service."

"It was nothing." he replied, as he took out a small but expensive looking camera. He quickly snapped some pictures, then remembered his manners. "I hope you don't mind?" he asked, somewhat worried.

"Do as ye please." said the little man, obviously disappointed.

"Thank you, your Majesty." he replied.

"If ye are finished, I best get back before any mischief begins." King McConnell said, with a small bow.

"I hope we will meet again." Mark said, sincerely hoping for that.

"Perhaps..." said the little man, as he disappeared.



"All he wanted was a picture?" asked Colby, incredulously.

"And a picture he got." grinned the little king. He snapped his fingers, and he and Colby stood in a closet, watching through a crack as Mark Gace uploaded pictures to his computer. In the background was a browser, open to a website about cryptozoology.

"What the - " he exclaimed, as images of a white rabbit, wearing a tiny crown, appeared on the screen.

King McConnell snapped his fingers again, and they were back at The King's Finest. "Ye were right, old friend. He wasn't to be trusted. As ye know, our very being depends on belief... But I was right too." he pointed out, with a twinkle in his eye.

"That ye were... No man can outwit King McConnell, especially not a would be leprechaun hunter and his fancy gadgets!"

At this, the two friends shared a toast - the beverage being nothing less than The King's Finest, of course.

Cover image made in Canva using their gallery

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency