Fool’s Treasure

There had been a war going on for generations. It started during my great-great-great-grandfather’s time, when invaders suddenly came to claim the land we had lived on for many centuries.

It did not matter on who was first or what right each other had over the land. What mattered was who took the bounty of the harvest it offered. After driving my ancestors farther, along with our other neighboring clans who we were dear friends with, they settled in and lived as if they owned it. And it became that way since that many years ago.

From the stories my mother told me, our land had lush forests, bountiful fields filled with game and rivers clear as the sky. Now, there were still some forests that are lush green, but a meager portion compared to before from what the elders grumbled in dismay. The fields where plenty of hunt used to frolicked were replaced with a rows and rows of other plants different from before. My clan would often steal a portion of them, for begrudgingly we have to admit it was also a decent meal.

At least the rivers stayed clear and pure some would say in consolation.

However, the idea that we had to steal food to live in our own home was beyond humiliating. My clan endured it despite the agony it brought to our honor and pride, but our friends, sadly could not. They decided to fight back with anger and zeal to retake back our place.

If only their bravery and battle could be rewarded, but tragically it was all for naught. They fought many battles and skirmishes, sometimes slaying a few of the invaders, not caring for their victim be it child or elder. There were victories that made our enemy fear them, but more so, it was mostly their loss.

They kept fighting, we tried to help, but we were not fighters so our assistance amounted to nothing much but annoyance to our foes. From then on, their numbers dwindled until finally in my generation I could only hear tales of our precious friends whose lives were now nothing but stories told with sadness and nostalgia. From what I heard the little survivors left decided to leave and find newer untainted land, some of my fellow went, but some decided to stay, which led my time.

I could only imagine now what the life I could have lived had it not been for the invaders coveting the land of my people. Be it in my dreams full of wonders I can imagine but never truly know, as I wake up and live through the day, I can never enjoy much of what should have been ours.
Now I think back to all of this as I watched hidden with a group of my fellow youths. After many years the invaders grew in numbers, thus they expanded their homes and made more fields of different crops.

jake-gard-CetB-bTDBtY-unsplash.jpg

We were at the edge poised ready to steal the harvest of the crops. Although I know it was our right to the land’s bounty, I could only call ourselves thieves with how our methods do. Of course I kept that to myself knowing the scolding I would get.

Tomorrow, they would begin the harvest, but before that we decided to take what we can to eat right when dusk came.

Right then we heard the yell of one of our brothers. The shout to start our plunder. We all charged into the rich fields.

Everywhere my fellow hurriedly took what they could carry and then ran back to the forests to secure our plunder. I was not lucky for the crop I chose, though fat with cereals and its bounty, was to tight and strong.

BANG!

Suddenly a dreaded roar of thunder came. We all knew that roar. It was told in the stories of how despite the fearsome strength of our friends, they fell because of that roar. It was the same one that signaled the gruesome death of our fellow at the hands of our foe. The body would be a bloody mess beyond help with just one hit from a strange object they carried in their arms.

Right away we immediately retreated, but more of the roars came, now accompanied with the angry voices of the invaders who tilled the field. I saw on both my sides as I took off in fear that some of my fellow fell prey to that roar.

I turned back to look, which was my fatal mistake.

I felt for a brief moment, a scorching heat passed my side. I cried out in pain and fell.

The pain was horrible but I knew I had to hide and keep quiet to live. I crouched as low as I could and kept silent amidst the sound of more roars, my fellows frantic retreat or being felled by the tool and my own heart beating fast from fear.
Gradually I can hear that most of my brethren having left, those who survived anyways. The darkness of night was around us making it easier for me to hide. The owners of the field came nearer carrying a another tool that had burning fire. I can hear their voice and it only made me tremble with my wound.

Moments felt like hours and finally I saw them picking off the bodies of my fallen brethren. I thought it was finally my chance to escape, but then a glimmer in the corner of my eye caught my attention.

On the chest of one of the invaders who held the strange tool that reaped many lives of my clan, a gleaming star was shining. The firelight reflected off the surface of the beautiful object on his breast that shone silver and white.

It was a treasure!

He had seen one before, a younger and much bolder youth had the fortune of stealing a long set of bright sparkling stones from one of the denizens of the settlement. He had showed others the fruits of his plunder and captured the admiration and attention of many in the clan. Eventually he won the heart of a beautiful girl and they were wed later.

Many were envious of his achievement, but it was already a difficult and dangerous task to steal from the fields for food, naturally it was more harder to venture into the enemy home just to steal a trinket.

The existence of such treasures were one of the few things that they found quite good about the invaders coming. Some elders even used to revile them for how they seem to captivate us with their shine, but after laying eyes to one all caution seemed to leave from their minds.

I debated, the eyes of the invaders were not good at seeing in the dark compared ours, they need those tools that carry fire. I can still move fast, my wound was actually light after I inspected it there was no serious harm, I only need to wash it and rest for a few days. But still the danger was still there I could lose my life! But this is one of the rare opportunities another might never come! But the treasure was so shiny and it glimmered beautifully, it was still tempting nonetheless.

I saw my enemies turn back and finally resolved myself. I rushed wildly to the one with the precious trinket.

“Wha---Aaarghh!”

I heard his cry of pain but did not falter. I wrestled with him, both prying the treasure and hitting him as hard as I could on wherever I can reach. At this distance, he could not use his tool to kill me nor can his fellow used theirs in fear of striking him.

I successfully pried the shining trinket then took off as fast as I could. I succeeded!

I heard another loud roar but thankfully it missed. Their aim was horrible in the dark. With that I flew back into the forest, towards my fellow who still lived. I may not have managed to steal food, but I did acquire a shiny treasure.


“You okay’.” A man asked his companion concerned.

“Ugh!” The older man who got attacked by a crow hissed while rubbing his face. Then he checked himself again and cursed. “DAMN THOSE CROWS!”

His outburst startled the group.

“What happened?” Another man asked.

“That crow stole my badge!” He yelled.

“What?!”

“Oh, that’s it? Nothing to be too worked up then.” The other man dismissed his troubles.

“My daughter gave me that!”

“It was just tin foil shaped in a star with a smiley face and blue ribbon pinned on it.”

“It was my daughters gift for my birthday!”

“Well looks like daddy’s little girl is gonna’ cry later then.” The other man laughed at his misfortune.

The rest followed with humor while the father in question grumbled, now thinking of a way to pacify his 6-year old daughter later.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency