WHO COULD THAT BE?

photo-1545276000-974f15d80cf1.jpeg
source

Getting a good job these days is very difficult. So many graduates go around in search of jobs. The system failed us all, we should have been trained to be job creators instead of job seekers.
My mother and sisters depend on me, now that I'm done with my higher education. But still to no avail. I've been searching for a job even though it's below my qualification, but still I need it. It's been two years since I left school. My Dad died in a plane crash when I was 19. Though he left us with a little investment, which my mother has been managing for long now.

One Saturday morning, I received a text message from my friend Mike saying, " dude, be at my place on Monday morning by 7:00AM and please make sure you look smart." I was perplexed reading the message. I tried reaching him through his phone number. But it was switched off.

That Monday morning, Mike told me he had gotten a job for me, though I won't like the place. But I was eager to know,because I have nothing else to do at the moment. He told me, it was a security job at a hospital. I will be working as a hospital security.

The pay was good, so I accepted it. I was told to resume immediately at the surveillance room. I was shown how everything worked there and got to meet my colleagues and superiors too.

That night something strange happened.

I leaned on the surveillance room's door frame and glanced over the six screens set up above the desk.

"Hey Steven, how's it going?"

Steven had a headset on his head, swivelled his chair to give me a high five. I walked into the room and relaxed into the spare seat. And observed the screen as well.

"It's been crazy tonight" I said, just to start up a conversation with him.

"Oh yeah?"

"Yeah, three bodies were rushed in today. An accident occurred, the two ladies survived but the man didn't. I just helped the nurse to move the body to the morgue. Well things have quieted down now, we hope for the best."

Steven was silent as he kept watching the screen.

"Something interesting happened tonight?"

"Well, not much.Had a little boy, who couldn't let go of his mother's death, his tears reminded me, when I lost my sweet Grandma." He said

"Oh, what a pity."

Steven leaned forward to look at the indicated signal on the screen.

"Isn't that Dr.Felix office? And who's that entering there?

"Yeah, it absolutely is. But he's not a doctor, or a worker here. So who could that be?"
The man was dressed in a torn, dirty singlet mixed with red stains all over it. My best guess is that it should be blood. His frantic movement was alarming. He was searching for something yet unknown to us.

He had his back to the camera, so all what we could see were his bald head and his hands having six fingers each.

"Are you not going to do something about that?" I asked, as he glared at me.

"It's a restricted section. That is the head of the department office, where patients files are stored. Not everyone has access to it." He replied.

"So?"

"Fine keep watch, I'll go and check it out. But give me updates."

"Fine, I got you covered."

He took the walkie talkie, torchlight and his pistol. In a few minutes, the door to Dr.Felix's office opened, he stepped through the door, he too backed the camera and faced the man who showed no concern towards his presence.

Steven walked deeper inside the room, seemingly he saw nothing. He then unclipped his walkie-talkie and spoke into it.

"There's no sign of anyone here. Over!" He said as his eyes scanned the entire room.

"He's right behind you." I shouted.

"I can't hear you. Speak up. It seems like there's interference."

He then turned to look at the security camera and spoke again. I wasn't able to read his lips. He turned and left the office, locking the door after himself.

The man didn't care, as he continued to pace, his hands were busy opening files and labels. There was something strange and disturbing about the way he moved, walking awkwardly with his hands vibrating. He glanced at each of the files. He was searching for something or someone.

Then Steven entered the surveillance room.

"Where did he go?" He asked me.

I hissed at him, then frowned. "Nowhere, he was right behind you, why did you leave?"

"What? Behind me? He wasn't there. Did he leave the office? And how?"

I turned back to the screen, and zoomed into the image with the help of my wireless mouse. The man turned and faced the camera. At that moment, I recognized him. He was one of those three bodies they rushed into the hospital today.

And now he's desperately in search of his body.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency