TAKEN

photo-1600213607670-7cb3ccec3b04.jpeg
source

Have you ever thought, if the teachings of rapture are real? If Heaven or Hell is real? If one day the golden trumpet shall sound and then, the righteous ones shall fly up into the sky, or if an alien invasion on earth or an alien ship in the sky, directing its light to beam people off the face of the earth. Have you ever thought of being alone on earth?

These are just my wild Imaginations, I cannot help myself with these questions. So I will write to you this short story.

Buzz.. Buzz…

That was the sound of my alarm. I rolled out of my bed, looking straight to the window. As a faint light forced its way into my room, through my slightly open curtain. Judging by the light, it would be at least one or two hours before the sun comes up. Then I turned to see my beautiful fiancee, Bianca, still asleep. She sleeps like a baby, with parts of her hair on her face, leaving a calm and innocent look, making her look like the sleeping beauty. I took the blanket and covered her, making her feel warmer and to sleep better. I brushed the hair away from her eyes, but made sure it won't wake her.

I pushed myself out of the bed and slipped my feet into my slippers before they chilled in the cold night air. Then went into the toilet to empty my bladder, after which I slipped out of the bedroom. The day was still young, so I didn't want to make a noise, as I walked down the hallway towards the kitchen. As I entered the kitchen, I heard Jasper barking. That was Mr. Williamson's dog, our neighbor. The dog was barking furiously as if it saw something that frightened it. Can someone please shut this dog up? I muttered as I took the fridge handle and took out butter and bread, then filled the kettle with water. I waited for the water to boil.

I took a slice of bread and a cut of butter using a small table knife, ready to spread the butter on the bread when I heard other dogs in the neighborhood barking aggressively. Then I became curious to know what was frightening them.

The water reached its boiling point, and I went to it. As I passed the kitchen window, I couldn't stop myself from glancing outside to see what was making the dog bark. Only to see Mr. Williams and his family standing outside. They weren't talking. They weren't moving. They weren't even standing close to each other. But they were all facing the same direction, west according to my view, and their faces were fixed upwards as though they could see something in the sky or something that looked catchy. Was it a shooting star? Should I go outside and check what's going on? I thought to myself.

My curiosity was getting high, I couldn't deny it, as I opened the front house window. And peeped, only to see half of my neighbors out of their houses and looking up just like Mr.Williamson and his family did in the same direction. They all faced the sky with open jaws and intent eyes, fixed on something unknown.

In shock, I ran up to my room, no longer trying to keep my footsteps quiet as I pushed the door into my bedroom open.

"Bianca?" I shouted.

Just to tell her what's happening,but I couldn't find her there.

"Where are you?" The bed's blanket had been taken off, and no one was there. The room was empty.
I went to the bedroom, in search of her, but she wasn't there. Her footwear was still left under the bed, Right in the same position. I couldn't bear the shock, as I panicked.

"What's going on? Where are you?"

I went downstairs and pushed through the front door. Only to see the street was filled with people staring at the sky. I looked up but I couldn't find anything captivating or compelling to stand outside in an awkward position. I was frantically searching for Bianca. In a short moment, I was able to spot her, because of her complexion. I didn't hesitate to go to her, as I pushed through the crowd towards my Bianca and held her hand, but she didn't move, her eyes were fixed up to the sky. No blinking. Then she said in a voice which I haven't heard before, it sounded too deep.

"The time is now."

Just beneath my eyes, she vanished, like she was beamed up, just like others did. A blue bright light shone on them and took them all. As I turned and stared at the empty street, empty cars, empty homes and empty shops. As I found myself facing the thought and idea of being alone on earth.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency