Peace After War

image.png

Source

image.png

I already feel my knees getting sore as I walk up the stairs of the old building. With every step I take, I can hear the squeaky sounds of the old creaky floor boards. Finally I get to the last step and knock on the door right in front of me. The old wooden door hasn’t been replaced in years. Unlike other doors in the building, this one has a lot of moss growing on it and fine parts breaking out making it look like it would fall apart in no time. The door needs to be changed but mother doesn’t think so. She keeps saying it has stood the test of time.

It’s been a few seconds since I knocked on the door but no one has come to it. I start to wiggle and tighten my legs as I feel the sensation to pee getting stronger. Getting frustrated, I look at my watch and knock a couple more times. Finally, the door opens slightly with eyes behind it trying to make out who it’s visitor is.

”Johnny? I thought you said you were going to come tomorrow”

The door opens up widely and my mum comes out looking up at me with her little oval granny glasses.

”I just thought I’d surprise you mom and spend the night. Tada!”

I stare at her with my arms open ready to receive a hug.

”Oh Johnny. Come on in”.

My mum guides me by the back of my waist and into the house still with my arms open. I should know better. Mum has never been that much of a hugger. She’s an old lady with a lot of old beliefs. Maybe that’s the reason she still lives in this old house.

Walking into the flat is just as bad as walking up the stairs. The weak floorboards creak so loud that it feels like you would fall into the next floor. The flickering light bulbs makes the house look like a good place to shoot a horror movie. I gently walk right into the bathroom to ease myself while mum walks straight into the flat and out the balcony. I finish quickly and join my mum on the balcony. With all the cracks in the house, it’s a surprise this balcony hasn’t fallen off wall yet. Uncertain of how strong the rails are, I lean back at the wall with my hands in my pocket. Mum’s sitting on a small sofa beside me with a book to her face and a very focused look.

”Mum, don’t you think it’s time you moved out of here? I can help you get a place anytime.” I say to my mother while still looking straight out the balcony. There was some silence for a moment that seemed to last very long.

”Isn’t it beautiful?” Mum asks suddenly. I look down at her and notice her looking over the balcony. Just beyond the messy neighborhoods that have been ravaged by war is the bright and colorful city lit up by neon lights and car headlamps. With the full moon out tonight, the city looks more beautiful than ever.

”Yeah it’s beautiful.” I reply slowly with confusion written on my face.

”The city wasn’t always so beautiful, Johnny. There was a time when it all looked like this part of town. It’s just that over there the footprints of war have been washed off and replaced by the footprints of love, peace and unity.”

There is a little smile on her face as she looks towards the city. Then all of a sudden, the smile was gone. She looked down at her book and says;

”I stay here because the house reminds me of him. Your father was a really good man. He might not have been a soldier but he was a very brave man. He pushed the agenda for better laws in the state. He was resilient in his quest for peace. He was the one who built the team that was able to push for laws that ended the conflicts back then. He’s the reason the city shines so bright at night but somehow the people seem to have forgotten so quickly.

”She stops and holds her mouth. Looking closely, I can see the tears form and fall from her eyes. She takes out a handkerchief and wipes the tears away."

”You were too young to remember but your father had a huge impact in this state. I know it sounds selfish but I really do miss him. There’s is so much of him in this place that I just can’t leave behind.

She struggles to speak with her lips quivering. I have never seen my mother so sad and vulnerable. I leaned over to her and hug her tight literally and metaphorically offering my shoulder for her to cry on.

”It’s ok mum. You’ll be ok

I feel her arms on my back as she hugs me back.



image.png

Thanks for your time!

Untitled design.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency