DON'T YOU GO AWAY

Snapchat-1510294396~2.jpg

The image is mine.

I raced into the airport, with beads of sweats formed on my forehead. I searched for Darasimi and my daughter, Imade amidst the passengers, but couldn't find them.

The large number of passengers streaming in and out of the airport obstructed my view and made it difficult for me to see them.

I was not frightened nor was I afraid; what I felt was beyond these nouns as I dashed forward, trying not to bumped on anyone. It was Impossible for Darasimi to leave me.

I'd left the house for work, without noticing anything strange; not even the bags she'd arranged. She'd served me breakfast, which was Oats with Milk and fresh fruits.

After eaten, she'd planted a kiss on my cheeks and bade me farewell with the words, "I will miss you." These words meant a lot to me as I drove to work and made me happy throughout the day.

I'd been married to my wife for four years and our marriage was blessed with a girl, which we named Imade. There was nothing I wouldn't do to make it up to her; I could give my life for her.

I cherished and loved her sincerely. I also carried out my responsibilities as a husband and father at home. What else could I have done to make her happy?

It was heartbreaking when I returned from work and found out she was gone with everything that belongs to her and Imade.

My heart thudded ferociously in my rib cage as I read the letter she'd left on the bed. I couldn't wait a second when I got to know from the letter she was travelling to Abuja.

I got my car keys and sped to the airport.

I pivoted to the departures where passengers who were leaving sat for the arrival of the plane. I was panting and sweats dripped down from my body. This was too much for me.

My eyes fell on Imade first, who sat very close to Darasimi. She was quiet, holding her doll Mary. Then, my gaze rested on Darasimi who was on a call and I felt goosebumps all over my body.


"Please, come back home." I pleaded, with my eyes stung with tears.

"No. I won't. I have to leave," she told me. " Our flight will be ready in no time."

"Don't, please. What I have done?"

"Dare, you haven't done anything. I just feel we needed space."

"Space?" my brows raised. "I don't get you. Help me out here," I said.

"I am tired of this marriage, I want to leave. I need my freedom."

"I have never deprived you of your freedom."

Her brows quirked. "Really? You think so?"

"Yes." I nodded.

"I don't have the time to do the things I want to do. It's always been you and Imade," she said, raising her voice.

I turned around and saw a few people looking at us. I lowered my voice as I sat close to her. Imade clung to her by the side.

"Babe, make things clear to me."

"For the last four years we have been married, I have been a full house wife. You told me not work."

"That's because I didn't want you to be stressed. I saw there was no need; I could take care of you."

"And you think it was something I wanted. You made me a prisoner in the house."

"But you never complained, I thought you wanted it." I looked into her eyes.

She wiped the tear drop that rolled down her left cheek. "What were you expecting me to do? I had no choice. I was being obedient to my husband."

I scratched my head as I was confused and didn't know what to do. I had never imagined that she lived in pain and sorrow over the decision I had taken. I guessed she had kept quiet because she wanted to please and make me happy.

"I am so sorry. I thought it was a wise decision to make; I should have sought for your opinion before taking the decision."

"I have made up my mind, Dare." She stroked Imade's hair. "I will send you the address of our residence," she said.

"No. No." I shook my head. "You can't leave me. I love you."

"Our flight is ready. Take care of yourself." She eased to her feet, holding Imade's hand.

I went down on my knees, with tears rolling down my cheeks. I held her feet and sobbed. I wouldn't let her go for no reason, she was my everything.

The rest passengers waiting for their flights fixed their gazes on us and watched in surprise.

"Please, don't leave me. I would do anything to make it up to you. I beg of you," I said, in a croaked voice.

She dabbed her cheeks with her floral scarf as tears spilt down her cheeks. I continued to plead until an aged man came forward to talk to her.

"My daughter, I know how it feels to be hurt, but you have to let it go and forgive. See how your husband is in tears begging on his knees," he said and touched her hand.

She sniffed and turn back to look at me. My cheeks were wet with tears. "I will only come back if ylh promised to do one thing."

"I am ready. Anything Darasimi."

"Get me a job in my field of study," she told me.

"Y-y-yes, I will." I stammered. "I will send your details out and make sure you get a job."

"Okay, it's settled. I will come home."

The rest passengers clapped and cheered as I rose to my feet to hug her. I would never forget this day in a hurry, it would always be a day to remember.

I thanked the aged man and bowed facing the passengers; Darasimi carried Imade as we walked to get their luggages.

I was grateful to God that I had my family back.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency