Childhood Love

img_16474249335107495_2.jpg

The image used is mine.

I could barely conceal my delight when the school bell rang for recess. Mrs. Tina had to round up her class for us to get our lunch boxes and eat. Recess was the best time for me In school, because there would be no writing and reading.

I grabbed my blue lunch box under my desk, opened it, and brought out my flask. My eyes gleamed as the aroma of the food teased my nostrils. I was very sure it was my favourite, spaghetti and plantain; and truly it was when I opened the flask.

I munched my food, enjoying every sweet taste of it when my eyes shifted and settled on Simisola, my school sweetheart at the front seat. Her head was on the desk and she wasn't eating.

I became worried and wondered what could be wrong with her. I closed my food and rushed to her seat. I heard her sniffling when I sat close and placed a hand on her shoulder.

"What's wrong?" I asked.

She didn't reply at first not until I had asked. "Talk to me, what's the problem?"

"I forgot my lunch box on the kitchen table at home, " she said, in a wheezy voice.

A gloom overcame me. "I am sorry about that, but don't worry, I will share mine with you. "

She raised her head, with her eyes widened. " N-n-n-no." She stuttered. "Don't do that, I will be fine."

"Why?" my brows arched.

"It won't be enough. "

I chuckled. "I have snacks in my bag as well, we could eat that after the meal. "

She shot a grateful smile at me and said, "Thank you, so much. "

"You are welcome," I told her and took her hand. I squeezed it gently, and gazed at her glowing eyes.

"I thought you were going to bring the food? " her brows arched in question.

I quickly released her hand and dashed to get the food, we sat together and ate with the same spoon since there was no other.


I decided to join the other kids at the playground, who were playing the question and answer game after eating. I gave Simisola some of my snacks just as I had promised and my skin tingled when she smiled at me.

I fell in love with Simisola from the very first day she became a pupil of our school, Gem Basic school. She was brown skinned, slender, and of average height. Her eyes were small yet lovely, with infringe curly eyelashes.

Her hair was jet black, long and curly. She was an epitome of beauty.

I was delighted to be her closest friend and confidant in the class, which made other boys jealous since she didn't relate with them. I decided not to go alone to the playground and asked if she was interested.

"Would you go with me to the playground?"

"Sure," she said, with joy exuding from her.

"Okay, let's go then." I held her hand as we edged out of the classroom. Some boys at the passageway stared at us. I could see jealousy written all over their faces.

The game had ended when we got to the playground and my face crumbled like used tissue. I was disappointed that I had missed the game. Simisola hit him fondly and pointed at the swing.

"Let's go there, it's going to be fun."

I nodded and we both raced to the swing. She sat on the one, while I pushed her from behind. She giggled as she swung, her skin was radiant in the sun. I stopped suddenly because I got tired and this saddened her.

"Why did you stop?"

"I am tired, Simisola. My hands are feeble," I told her and sat on the other swing.

I could see her with the corners of my eyes even when I wasn't looking at her, she had a soft smile on her face. She stood up from the swing and planted a kiss on my cheek. I hadn't expected it and she was fast about it.

My eyes twinkled, my heart fluttered, as I placed my hand on the spot she had kissed. It was the best thing that had happened to me.

I turned and said to her. "I love you, Simisola."

She beamed and replied. "I love you too."


I couldn't concentrate throughout school lessons, getting to know Simisola loved me was like winning a trophy.

I kept stealing glances at her while the class was on and felt like holding her hand once more; she had captured my heart completely.

I just wanted to be close to her and feel her smooth brown skin. I made up my mind to change my seat the next day to her seat, so our love could blossom.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency