Darkness - Short fantasy story (Part 7)

"I wanted to ask you some questions if you don't mind, I hope you can answer me," I began timidly, but I saw approval on his face and I felt confident.

"Of course, boy, it took you a long time, but I didn't want to press you," he said in a deep voice, full of some calmness that he radiated himself.

"Well, for starters, I'd like to know who you are, what's your name ... I've been with you for days, and I'm grateful for everything you've done for me, I really am, but I'd like to take a bigger picture." my first questions. Actually, the names meant little to me, but I had to start with something.

"There is no need to give thanks, we would help anyone who found themselves in the trouble you were in. I'm glad I managed to save someone's life. My name is Darrell, and as you've probably guessed by now, I'm a priest. Admittedly completely apostate and different from all the priests of my order, but still a priest. You see, I tend to do everything contrary to the rules that the holy books dictate, but there are rules that they can't take away my robes until I commit a crime worth hanging. So, my whole fraternity is extremely angry with me, but they can't do anything about it. This group of people I'm with is somewhat closer to the family I've had in the last ... well, the last twenty years. They found me, almost in the same condition as you were twenty years ago, and helped me survive. And I vowed to stay with them until they felt they didn't need me anymore. Honestly, I'm not even sure what else I would have done if I hadn't stayed with them. At least this way I have a feeling that in addition to all evil that is present in the world, and which is just about to surround our hearts, I am helping one part of this world to remain illuminated by light. '' He said and a strange set permeated his deep voice, as to survive memories that cause him pain.

‘‘ I’m glad Darrell, I’m Ror. Yes, I assumed you were a priest but I was upset that you had hundreds of scars and you wore yourself like a warrior. That confused me, so I didn't want to draw conclusions too quickly. " I said, carefully following his reaction.

‘‘ Yeah, well you didn’t do much wrong. But it’s not a story for tonight, I’m afraid we’ll leave that for another time. What I wanted to tell you is that you always have a home here. I'm scared of some things you told me and I think it would be safest for you to stay with me for now. I'll explain everything to you, and now I have to go to sleep. We have a lot of work to do tomorrow, we need to go hunting and collect wood, if this rain allows us to do so. " He said, getting up, and I stayed for a long time watching fire calm down as the last flames of the fire died.


Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency