Chasing - Short fantasy story

I entered the tavern lit by the light of torches hanging from the walls. The stench of bad beer and stale air was all over place. I didn't expect anything else. Every face turned to me as I opened the door, looking at me in bewilderment. The owner stopped washing the glass by stalking me. Nothing unexpected, I'm sure that in this little remote town so far south, they never had visitors. Clear hostility was seen on every face. Every look said they did not accept strangers. Their routine and the peace of the autumn evening were disturbed by some complete stranger. I'm not even sure that my clothes didn't help make the situation easier. The big sword tied with ribbons over the back was noticeable in much larger places and cities, and there it attracted attention, let alone here. Nor my black cloak.

I sat down at the bar and ordered a beer, although I never liked beer, but I'm not sure that I want to take a risk with something else in a place like this. No one spoke, nor did the conversation return among those gathered. Only seven tables in the tavern, half of which are occupied by workers.

"Boy, you have to pay in advance." That was all the owner said, reaching for a large glass.
I took out three coppers and put them on the surface of the bar.

The guests slowly began to return to their usual chatter, but occasionally glancing at me, as if expecting me to get up and cut them all off with the sword on my back. Looking around, I noticed that in the tavern owner hadn't brought any new pieces of furniture into this tavern for decades, but despite the stale smell, it seems that the middle-aged skinny innkeeper kept everything as clean as possible.

"Do you serve food, innkeeper?" It seemed to me that I would regret asking this, but I had to somehow get him to talk.

‘‘ You can get only cold stew from today. Three more coppers. ” He said and went through the door on the opposite side of the bar that led to the kitchen. I put three coppers on the bar. A few minutes later, he returned with a bowl of some strange liquid that looked like stew only in name.

I was hungry after a full day of travel, so despite the disgusting taste, I ate everything. The innkeeper did not leave his place, his guests came to the bar to have a drink. I guess so that they could take a closer look at me. After a while, it seems to me that the tension eased, and everyone went back to their jobs and conversations completely.

"Come on, boy, enough silence. Who are you and what are you doing here?" Said the innkeeper. At that moment, every further conversation died down and all faces turned to me again.

"You haven't had a lot of guests here lately, have you?" I said.

"Look, no one here has come here since the Imperial Tax Officer ten years ago. We no longer even know if we belong to the same Empire. So, the truth on the sun. ” He said, leaning on the bar.

''OK OK. There is no reason for hostility, I am not here to do you any harm. I am Bostek, an agent of the Imperial Service. I am here to introduce some new measures, as well as to recruit new soldiers for the Imperial Army. Also, I'm looking for a man who was last seen traveling in this direction a month ago. Do you perhaps know anything about that? He introduces himself as Maril. "

"It's a lot of news for us. You say you're recruiting for the military? It will be difficult for you to do it here, there is not much young world or mood for it. We have been forgotten for years and now you want help. Nobody came through here. " The innkeeper said.

"Whatever you know about that man is welcome information. He is extremely dangerous, he escaped from the Imperial Prison. The killer. But well, maybe tomorrow you will remember something new. Is there a pallet for me? I will pay fairly. "

‘‘ You can sleep in a straw barn. Seven coppers. "


Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency