Racers.

Source


I dashed through the trees as fast as I could trying to keep up with George. He was always so fast.

"George! Slow down!" I screamed at the top of my voice, but it came out like a hoarse whisper in my ears.

I ducked in time to avoid getting smacked in the face by a gnarly tree branch, I jumped as high as I could over the sturdy roots that never seemed to stop entangling on the ground like they were made for racers like me to miss a step and fall terribly.

I heard a laugh echo in my ears.

It must be George.

I quickly wiped sweat away from my eyes as I jumped as high as I could over two separate boulders.

My eyes looked around as fast as they could searching for any sign of George.

"You're too slow!"

It came with a high pitched laughter.

He's obviously enjoying this.

I know I shouldn't push myself further but I do it anyway, I didn't disobey mother just to lose to George.

The wind whistled in my ears as my speed increased, I ran like my life depended on it.

I was in an open ground now, away from the woods and there's enough space to run without the fear of tripping.

Slow down Lily. Slow down.

A voice in my head warned.

I ignored the voice and pumped energy into my legs as I ran like the wind, enjoying the rush of the wind in my veins and bright burst of energy propelling me forward.

Something flashed red up ahead and I smiled.

Gotcha.

George's bandana flashed bright red in the morning sun as he darted across the grounds too fast for my eyes to focus.

He has always been the star of the races every season and I've always wanted to beat him, for once at least.

Maybe it'll wipe off that smug smile he carries every time. George wouldn't like being beaten.

I frowned a little as I noticed George getting farther and farther from me.

I still have a lot of distance to cover before I reach the highway where I'd take a bus back to base.

The plan was to run all the way to base, that was George's plan anyway and not mine.

"George!"

I called out as I saw the red color of his bandana get smaller and smaller.

It wasn't him going extra fast, it was me getting slow.

"No, no, no."

I murmured in denial.

I have to keep going, I have to catch up with George.

I have to get back to base.

Mother can't know I'm out here exhausting my energy on a silly race.

I was supposed to be at base saving up all my energy in preparation for the upcoming season which will be George's last since he's going off to college and my first.

Like a machine slowly shutting down, my speed reduced greatly by the second and there was nothing I could do about it.

I was exhausted, tapped out.

My energy was sapped totally.

I finally slowed to a shaky stop and took a look at the watch strapped to my arm. The watch read 1%.

My breath caught in my chest and I doubled over gasping for air as blood rushed to my ears.

Great. This is just perfect, dying slowly in an open space.

I thought as I fell slowly to the ground.

I stared at the blue sky waiting for my racing heart to slow down.

George would have reached the highway thinking I was right behind him.

I breathed in and out steadily and slowly careful not to spark off another bout of painful gasping.

This is why racers are warned never to totally exhaust their energy, it could cause a lot of complications or lead to an early death.

I shouldn't have let George taunt me into going on a race with him when I wasn't ready.

I groped slowly for my smartphone with hands that felt like lead. I'll call base and tell them my location and then I'll let sleep carry me away.

I squinted as the sun shone bright in my face.

I scrolled through searching for any number saved with BASE or HQ and I called the first one I saw.

"Hello?"

A woman answered on the second ring.

I'm lost, track me.

My mouth moved but no sound came out.

"Lily is that you?"

My hand fell from my ear to the ground as my body shut down and my eyes closed in a deep sleep.


My eyes flashed open and I tried to sit up but my body felt too heavy to move, like I ran round the world.

"Oh no. This is very bad," I murmured.

Someone's feet shuffled beside me.

"You're awake!"

I winced at the voice. It's George's.

I nodded, not eager to give him an answer.

I may have lost my chance to participate in the races this season all because I wanted to make a silly point.

"You won, now go away," I murmured and turned to the other side not wanting to look at his face and possibly see that annoying smile.

"Mom she's awake," George phoned Mother and within minutes she appeared in the room.

"Lily what came over you?"

I winced again. I knew that tone.

"Nothing mom." I murmured in response.

She said nothing for a moment.

"Look at me when I'm talking to you young lady,"

I turned around immediately as fast as my tired body could allow me.

"Look at you," Mother pointed at me.

"You can barely walk and you say nothing happened?" Her tone rises, and I know I'm grounded already.

Probably forever.

I thought grimly.

"The season begins next month and you chose to run with your brother and exhaust your energy when you know you had to save it for the races. You're grounded."

Yep, there it is.

"Until next season," Mother said with finality and walked out.

"Mom!" I tried to shout it.

She can't keep me here until next year.

I looked at my brother with tears in my eyes, silently pleading with him to help me talk to mom.

"Beg mom for me please," I whispered.

George shrugged and gave me a pat on the shoulder and walked out.

I turned to face the wall, crying silently and counting the days till I'll be fully charged and ready to go convince Mother that she can't keep me locked up for a year.


Thank you for reading.
I couldn't think of a better title. :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency