Fated By Moonlight || The Inkwell Prompt #49

wene-vHWbuZhHvEM-unsplash.jpg
Image Source


“Hello?” Karen said when she answered the ringing telephone.

“Hello…” A male voice said.

“Who is this?” Karen asked as she sipped orange juice from a mug. She was all set for her nightly ritual with her favorite book in her favorite spot.

“Erm... I don't really know how to introduce myself.” The caller said with caution.

“Who are you trying to reach?”

“You, I...uhh... would like to talk to you.” He said.

“Okay, do I know you?" Karen asked.

"Kind of." He said.

"We have met before. Several times even." He continued.

"Is that so?" Karen said with sarcasm.

“I didn't mean to bother you.” He apologized.

“You are forgiven. Bye now.”

“No, don’t hang up yet.” He pleaded

“Why not.”

“Because I’d like to keep talking to you.” He pleaded.

“I don’t normally talk to strangers…” Karen began.

“I am not a stranger, we have met before. At the mall."

“Is that so?” Karen asked.

“We also go to the same coffee shop” He continued.

“Okay, I don’t exactly remember.” Karen said thoughtfully.

“You don’t?”

“I am the guy you bumped into in the parking lot the other day." He explained.

“Oh! The guy I spilled hot coffee on?" Karen remembered.

"Yes, that's me." He affirmed.

"I am so sorry, I wasn't paying attention." Karen apologized once again.

"It's okay, you are forgiven." He laughed.

"How did you get my number?" She asked.

"Uhh, Leila at the coffee shop. She convinced me to call you." He confessed.

"Oh." Karen said.

"Please don't be mad. If you want I could hang up." He apologized.

“Tell me your name.” Karen said.

“Jason.” Jason replied.

“My name is Karen, nice to meet you.”

“Hi Karen, it's really nice to meet you.”

“What are you up to?” Karen asked.

“Counting my blessings." Jason said.

“I finally got to talk to you. It's a blessing." Jason said with a smile

Karen giggled.

"That's really sweet." She said.

He laughed. His laugh was warm and comforting and she liked it.

“Not to come off on the wrong foot or anything Karen, but I gotta ask.” He asked.

“Go on."

“Do you have a boyfriend?" He asked with caution.

“No I don't .” Karen smiled and picked up her book.

“Do you mind if I ask you out to coffee tomorrow?" He asked.

Karen smiled.

“No I don't mind." She answered.

"Noon?" He asked.

“Noon is perfect." Karen replied.

“I guess it is goodnight. I don't wanna keep you."

"Goodnight Karen."

“Goodnight Jason."

“Hmm-mm, I will see you tomorrow." He said

“Can't wait.” Karen said.

“Goodnight." Jason said again.

"Goodnight." They both laughed.

Karen hung up with a smile on her face and butterflies in her belly, because it turns out she also noticed Jason at the coffee shop. Fate at work maybe.

She thought.

She stood staring out the window, the cool night breeze wafted in carrying the sweet smell of flowers from her neighbour's garden and the light of the moon gave the night a beautiful glow.

The sky is so beautiful.

Karen thought with a smile on her face.


The End.
This story is inspired by this week's fiction prompt "By The Light Of Moon".
Thank you for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency